Out-Law / 您的日常须知

国际仲裁

Out-Law指南 | 16 Apr 2019 | 3:53 pm |

本指南最近更新时间为2011年7月。

仲裁是一种正式的争议解决机制,通过一位或多位不属于任何一方的人员作出最终的约束性决定。仲裁庭由仲裁各方使用他们能够影响的流程,自行选择的法律或行业专家组成。

国际仲裁是在全球范围内进行的、为法律与文化背景迥异的跨境争议提供快速、实用且经济的解决方案。

在某些行业,以及对于某些公司,仲裁已经成为解决国际争议的首选方法。仲裁在工程建设、工程技术、石油、天然气、航运、大宗商品以及保险合同领域尤为常见。在商业合同中增加仲裁条款可以让企业选择将与合同有关的争议提交给仲裁庭解决,而不是向法院提起诉讼。

每个司法辖区均有自己的仲裁法律,但由于存在《联合国承认及执行外国仲裁裁决公约》(即通常所说的纽约公约(7页/1MB的PDF文件) 以及提供仲裁规则和流程以适应国际仲裁的国际仲裁机构,仲裁裁决的承认和执行变得更加简单。

国际仲裁的特征以及部分优点

最终性和约束性:仲裁裁决相比初审法院的判决更有可能成为最终决定,因为后者往往会引起上诉。尽管仲裁裁决可能遭到质疑,不论是在作出裁决的国家,还是在执行裁决的国家,质疑裁决的理由是受到限制的。

执行:仲裁裁决相比各国法院的判决更加受到国际认可。目前,全球145个国家签订了纽约公约。该公约推动了裁决在所有签字国的执行,如果裁决在某个签字国作出,则所有签字国必须承认该裁决的效力。两个或多个国家之间还存在多个其他仲裁公约,协助推动仲裁的执行。双边投资协定(BIT)可能同样相关。

平等地位:在仲裁协议中,协议各方可以指定仲裁的多个重要特征。首先是仲裁的“地点”(seat),而这反过来可以决定适用的其他仲裁规则。各方还可以指定其他特征,例如仲裁适用的语言,以及仲裁员的数量。如果争议来自双方对于仲裁员身份的认定,或,如果使用三位仲裁员组成的仲裁小组,则双方可以各指定一位仲裁员,再由两位仲裁员指定第三位仲裁员。仲裁可能出现在任何国家,采用任何语言,或者使用任何国籍的仲裁员。凭借这种灵活性,仲裁通常可以形成中立的流程,确保任何一方都无法从中取得不当优势。

专业:如上所述,在仲裁中,涉及方可以指定自己选择的人员,因为仲裁员均为独立的个人。这确保各方可以选择具有某种特定能力或者在相关领域具有特长的仲裁员,他们不一定必须是专业的法律人士。

速度、时间与成本:仲裁曾被认为要比诉讼更加节省时间和费用,不过诉诸仲裁的国际争议往往耗费大量的时间和金钱。质疑仲裁裁决的情况相比法院判决要少得多,这意味着仲裁各方不必深陷于漫长而费用高昂的上诉流程。

保密性:仲裁审理通常不公开举行。保密性通常是争议双方选择诉诸仲裁的原因之一,尽管在某些国家保密性并非是仲裁的默示责任。

机构仲裁或临时仲裁:选择仲裁的合同涉及方可以选择将仲裁的管理工作交给特定机构,例如国际商会(ICC),或者根据机构框架之外的“临时”规则进行处理。在机构仲裁中,各方将使用该机构的仲裁规则。在临时仲裁中,双方可以采取联合国国际贸易法委员会(UNCITRAL)仲裁规则,或者某些机构规则或自行确定的流程规则。在临时仲裁中,仲裁将由双方自行管理,或者由双方指定的仲裁员管理。不过,如果问题来自仲裁过程中或者指定仲裁员,相关各方可能需要国家法院或仲裁机构的协助。

费用:通常会由仲裁庭来确定哪一方来支付仲裁费用以及具体的支付比例,包括仲裁员以及仲裁庭指定的任何专家的费用和开支。不过,有关费用的具体规则将取决于仲裁的管理规则以及相关各方之前确定的协议。

哪些情况适合使用仲裁?

  • 相关各方寻找一个中立的辩论地点,因为可能存在司法辖区差别的法院不能被视为完全独立;
  • 若相关国家的法律制定不够健全或者不适合处理相关争议;
  • 若相关各方希望争议由与争议相关的专家来裁决;
  • 若通过法院诉讼可能极为耗费时间和费用;
  • 若各方希望对解决争议的流程拥有相同的控制力;
  • 若作出裁决的地点不同于债务人的资产所在地;
  • 若最终约束性裁决仅有很少或者完全没有上诉权;
  • 若需要确保保密性。

尽管仲裁适合于大多数情况,某些争议可能不适合进行仲裁,举例来说,如果合同一方有可能恶意破坏仲裁,由于某个国家司法制度尤其严格或者争议的主题并不适用于相关国家的法律。

Out-Law / Your Daily Need-To-Know

International arbitration

Out-Law Guide | 27 Aug 2007 | 3:00 pm | 4 min. read

This guide was last updated in July 2011.

Arbitration is a system of formal dispute resolution by one or more impartial people for a final and binding decision. The arbitral tribunal can be made up of legal or industry experts of the parties' own choosing, using procedures which they can influence.

International arbitration is conducted all over the world against very different legal and cultural backgrounds and can provide for the quick, practical and economical settlement of cross-border disputes.

In some industries, and for some companies, arbitration has become the chosen method for the resolution of international disputes. Arbitration is particularly common in construction, engineering, oil, gas, shipping, commodities and insurance contracts. Inserting an arbitration clause into commercial agreements enables businesses to opt to have disputes which arise in connection with the contract to be decided by an arbitral tribunal rather than through litigation in the courts.

Each jurisdiction will have its own arbitration laws, but with the existence of international conventions such as the United Nations Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (known as the New York Convention (7-page / 1MB PDF)  and international organisations which provide arbitration rules and procedures to suit international disputes, there is a greater ease of recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards.

Features of international arbitration and some of its advantages

Final & binding: arbitral awards are more likely to be final than those of the judgements of courts of first instance, which will often be subject to appeal. Although arbitral awards may also be challenged, in either the country where the award is granted or where enforcement is sought, the grounds of challenge available against arbitral awards are limited.

Enforcement: arbitral awards can have much greater and easier international recognition than the judgements of national courts. To date, 145 countries have signed the New York Convention. The Convention facilitates the enforcement of awards in all the states which have signed it - if the award is made in a signatory state it will be recognised in all the other signatory states. There are several other arbitration conventions between two or more countries that may also help enforcement. Bilateral investment treaties (BITs) may also be relevant.

Equal footing: in their arbitration agreement, parties can specify various important features of the arbitration. These include first and foremost the 'seat' of the arbitration, which in turn will determine among other things the procedural rules which will apply. Parties can also specify other features such as the language used, and the number of arbitrators. If a dispute arises the parties may agree the identity of the arbitrator between them or, if a panel of three arbitrators is to be used, may each nominate one of the arbitrators with the third appointed by those arbitrators. Arbitration may take place in any country, in any language and with arbitrators of any nationality. With this flexibility, it is generally possible to structure a neutral procedure offering no undue advantages to any party.

Expertise: as noted above, often in an arbitration the parties will be able to nominate the people of their choice as arbitrators provided they are independent. This enables the parties to choose arbitrators who have a particular competence or specialism in the relevant field, who need not necessarily be members of the legal profession.

Speed, time and costs: arbitration was once thought to be a speedier, less costly dispute resolution method than litigation, but the complex international disputes referred to arbitration can often take a great deal of time and money to resolve. The limited scope for challenging arbitral awards as compared with court judgements does however mean that the parties will not subsequently become tangled in a prolonged and costly series of appeals.

Confidentiality: arbitration hearings are usually held in private. Confidentiality is often a reason why arbitration is chosen as the method of dispute resolution, although in some jurisdictions there is no implied duty of confidentiality.

Institutional or ad hoc arbitration: parties using arbitration have a choice between having the arbitration administered, for a fee, by an institutional body such as the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), or proceeding on an 'ad hoc' basis outside of an institutional framework. In an institutional arbitration, the parties will use the rules of that institution. In an ad hoc arbitration the parties can adopt the UNCITRAL arbitration rules or a set of institutional rules or draw up their own procedural rules. In ad hoc cases, the arbitration will be administered by the parties themselves and - once they have been appointed - the arbitrators. However, if problems arise in setting the arbitration in motion or appointing the arbitrators, the parties may need the assistance of a state court or that of an institution.

Costs: it is usually the arbitral tribunal which decides which of the parties are to meet the costs of the arbitration and in what proportion, including for the fees and expenses of the arbitrators and any tribunal-appointed experts. However, the precise rules on costs will depend on the governing rules of the arbitration and any agreement made by the parties beforehand.

When may arbitration be appropriate?

  • where the parties are looking for a neutral forum because the courts which otherwise may have jurisdiction may not be viewed as being totally independent;
  • where the relevant country's legal system is underdeveloped or ill-suited to deal with the dispute;
  • where the parties want the dispute to be resolved by an expert relevant to the dispute;
  • where litigation through the courts may be lengthy and costly;
  • where the parties want to have some control over the procedure for resolving the dispute;
  • where the decision will not be made in the same place that the debtor's assets are to be found;
  • where a final and binding decision is required with a minimum, or no, right of appeal;
  • where confidentiality is required.

Although arbitration is usually appropriate in most circumstances, some disputes may be inappropriate for a referral to arbitration - for example, if one of the parties is likely to be deliberately obstructive, because a particular country's legal system is restrictive or the subject-matter of the dispute is not one which can be referred to arbitration according to the relevant national laws.