数据:贵公司的隐匿资产

数据可以是实现目标的工具,也可以是可利用的资源,甚至可能是一种负担,因为它会引起监管风险。但最成功的公司将是那些将数据视为资产的公司,这种资产与现金储备、库存和知识产权一样是有形和重要的资产。

目前,一些公司已将数据列入其损益表中,数据密集型公司的价值已远超非数据密集型公司。

许多公司仍将数据视为置于其核心业务之外、非其核心业务的关键。但事实是,您如何使用数据可以改变您的公司及其价值。

Robin Sutara

微软

您将在竞争中落后,因为他们已经具有以数据为中心的文化。

谨慎和投资数据可以改变您满足客户需求的方式和业务运作的方式。但它也可以增加贵企业的价值,使您对买家或投资者更具吸引力。

微软英国首席数据官Robin Sutara指出“许多实体已开始将数据视为一种资产,”。“在应对脱欧、疫情及其引发的供应链问题时,他们正在利用数据改变其业务。一些实体甚至将数据列入其损益计算中,因为他们从这些数据中获得了货币价值。”

“他们使用数据的目的多种多样:改变与客户的接触方式;赋予员工权力;改变从供应链到服务交付的各环节的内部流程。各实体已开始考虑如何利用数据作为资产来创建和开发新产品和服务。他们正使用数据帮助其思考可持续性目标,这已成为董事会每次讨论的议题,以及作为实体如何根据其影响力进行定位。”

许多公司将采取一些措施改进其使用数据的方式,并可能对其自己的进步感到自豪。但Sutara表示,竞争风险较少来自于此类老牌公司,更多来自于从最初就以数据为导向的公司。

“您将在竞争中落后,因为他们已经具有以数据为中心的文化,尤其是那些诞生于云端的新实体。在过去几十年中,您可以看到一些明显的例子(例如优步与传统出租车),那些利用数据力量的实体比那些不采取行动的实体发展得更快。”

如何成为数据公司

认识到贵公司未充分利用数据资产只是一方面,另一方面在于您如何成为一家以数据为导向的公司,实现所有此类价值?

Sutara指出,您必须从贵公司的人员和文化着手。

她指出:“这不仅仅关于技术,您必须考虑人员和流程 - 您如何确保您的实体实现数据的价值,考虑进入系统的数据的质量,衡量对数据质量的投资,并将其转化为价值。”。

她说:“数据文化是任何实体变革中最困难的部分,因此它使得人们改变他们的工作方式,这一点很难。”。

关于收集哪些数据和如何收集数据的原则至关重要:如果您在收集或存储数据时违反了规定,您就无法利用数据。为满足商业和监管方面的要求,必需确保数据的及时性、相关性和准确性:您将通过更好的数据获得更好的结果。

Sutara指出,老牌公司可能对此望而生畏,他们在达到尽善尽美之前经常会受到抗拒变革的诱惑。

“给予实体的最重要建议是:您不可能仅凭借一项技术或一项数据解决方案就能解决所有问题。因此,先迈出一小步,确定一个业务用例,一个您可以提供的消费者价值,一个您可以自动化的员工流程。每个实体都希望谈论有吸引力的人工智能、机器学习、流程自动化等事宜,但最重要的是,正确掌握贵实体中存在的所有数据的基本要素。”

她坦言:“当实体提及‘我们不能在整个业务范围内作出任何改变,因为我们没有在一个平台上整合或在一个来源中汇总所有数据’时,我很担心。因此我始终建议:先迈出一小步,找出您能够解决的一件事。”。

如何存储和保护有价值的数据

所有这些都是一项重大投资。在某些情况下,这意味着重组整个实体。因此,确保您收集、存储和使用您数据的方式能够保护这些数据,并确保您的数据不被竞争对手利用,从而保护这项投资,这一点非常重要。

英国品诚梅森律师事务所知识产权专家Iain Connor指出,这一点可能很困难,因为您无法真正“拥有”数据。

他指出:“很多时候,数据只是一个事实 – 您无法拥有和控制一个事实。重点在于谁对数据整合进行投资。这种投资可以赋予您数据库权利和保密信息权利,但这些权利需要您以特定的方式行为。”。

Connor Iain

Iain Connor

Partner

您无法拥有一个事实 – 重点在于谁对数据整合进行投资

数据库权利使您有权独家利用您已投入大量精力收集和验证的数据,以及您继续投入此等精力进行更新的数据。

Connor指出:“如果一个数据库没有得到维护、管理和更新,这将削弱您对其进行商业利用的能力。”。

保密权是对数据的另一种保护,但您有责任对信息保密。如果信息是其他人发布或合法获得的,那么您通常无法阻止他们使用您的数据。

数据库的开发方式很重要。它是内部创建的还是由承包商创建的?它是在何处开发的?并非每个国家都承认数据库权利。它是在何时创建的?如果它丢失数据,它将失去保护。数据是如何收集的?这些问题可能会影响您使用数据库的用途。

这些数据收集和存储机制会对您将数据作为资产进行商业利用的能力产生直接和即时的影响。

技术和数据专家Nils Rauer也表示,数据所有权问题可能会阻碍从数据资产中获得全部价值。

他指出“可以通过许多方式将数据专有地链接到个人或公司。将个人数据链接到个人。将商业秘密链接到公司。根据银行保密法律将数据链接到银行。但所有这些示例都不同于对数据实物的所有权。数据的专有分配可能会发生重叠,例如在客户数据库中既包含个人数据,也受数据库权利的约束。数据库可能还包含商业秘密,”。

“许多人认为,数据等数字资产所有权的存在是理所当然的,这种想法并非在任何情况下都正确。例如,这就是为何在NFT(非同质化代币)内含的合同中有关于买方能做什么和不能做什么的指引。”

数据所有权问题的影响

技术专家Mark Marfé指出,这些问题会对运营产生影响。如果一家公司希望第三方供应商使用人工智能(AI)工具优化其工厂,那么它必须让供应商访问大量商业敏感数据和专有数据 - 没有良好的数据,人工智能工具不会产生有价值的结果。

他指出“其中一些数据可能具有核心重要性和高度机密性,例如工厂设计、布局和工艺算法,”。“可以理解,制造商希望在人员和用途上限制其对数据的访问权限。但供应商会希望将来可以自由从事其他项目,包括为制造商的竞争对手服务。”

“制造商面临的挑战是,其并非真正拥有数据的所有权,而是对数据的类似所有权的权利。制造商需要在其与供应商的合同中建立并维护数据‘所有权’。”

这意味着需要明确数据使用方式的详细管理;数据是否与第三方数据相结合;数据在何处存储和处理,以及对数据使用有何限制。

Marfé还指出,第三方和供应商将通过接触您的数据形成一定的知识和见解。这是无法阻止的。

他指出:“虽然您可以限制保密信息的使用,但您无法阻止供应商的员工使用他们在项目过程中诚实获得的技能和知识。”。

他指出:“这使得保密信息和商业秘密被记录和确定为机密尤为重要。”。“英国法院认为,‘保密信息’通常可以追溯到一个特定的来源,而且它并未完全融入当事人的脑海,以至于当事人不可能确定他在某一特定领域的信息的确切来源。”

他指出:“这使得保密信息和商业秘密被记录和确定为机密尤为重要。”

数据信托

Andrew McMillan表示,如果主要挑战之一是如何共享和利用数据而不会失去对数据的控制,那么解决方案通常是建立数据信托。

他指出:“数据信托通常被定义为,它是一种为约定的目的提供独立的数据管理的法律结构,意即它可以使实体之间通过一个负责的、独立的机构为有限和指定的目的共享数据。”。“这确实克服了实体之间不希望彼此直接共享数据的障碍。”

McMillan Andrew

Andrew McMillan

Partner, Head of Technology & Digital Markets

数据信托确实克服了实体之间不希望彼此直接共享数据的障碍

McMillan指出,上述三个要素,即:它是一个法律实体;它是独立的;目的是指定和有限的,都至关重要。

他指出:“数据共享历来仅仅是在两个实体之间进行,无法扩展。”。“数据信托使数据共享具有可扩展性,由此可以前所未有的规模共享数据。这本身就使数据作为一种资产变得更有价值,因为一旦您将您的数据与其他数据提供者的数据聚合,您就可以查询组合的数据集,并可以根据更宏观的局面而不仅仅是您自己的数据来做出决策和采取行动。”

数据信托允许根据约定的信托规则访问数据或数据的限定部分。这意味着可以根据具体的信托规则向每个数据用户授予访问权限。

这也意味着数据其实无需转移给其他实体。数据可以在未曾离开数据所有者系统的情况下被处理。

McMillan指出:“数据不一定需要由管理员保存在一个中心位置。”。“它们可以分散保存,这样就不会使数据离开提供者的服务器,这种做法如同一项访问协议。用户可以从多个位置查询数据,回答他们的问题,但数据无需从一台服务器转移到另一台服务器。”

对于公司如何更好地利用其数据资产这一问题,数据信托只是一个新兴的答案。数据正在改变经济,目前已成为许多公司的主要资产。对于那些尚未改变其对待数据的方式或尚未保护其拥有的数据的实体,它们面临着被超越的风险。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

Data can be a tool to achieve your goals, it can be a resource to exploit, it can even be a burden because it introduces regulatory risk. But the most successful companies will be those that treat data as an asset, something as tangible and important as cash reserves, inventory and intellectual property.

Some companies are now including data in their profit and loss statements, and data-heavy companies are achieving valuations far in excess of their non data-focused peers.

Too many companies think about data as something peripheral, non-core to their central business. But the truth is that how you use data can transform your company and its value.

Robin Sutara

Microsoft

The competition will leave you behind because they already have a data-focused culture.

With care and investment data can transform how you meet your customers’ needs and how your business functions. But it can also increase the value of your business and make you more attractive to buyers or investors.

“Many organisations are starting to see data as an asset,” said Robin Sutara, UK chief data officer at Microsoft. “They are using it to transform their business as they respond to Brexit, the pandemic and the supply chain issues they caused. Some are even listing it in their profit and loss calculations because of the monetary value they derive from their data.”

“They are using it a wide variety of purposes: changing how they engage with their customers; empowering their employees; changing their internal processes for everything from supply chains to the delivery of services. Organisations are starting to think about how they create and develop new products and services by leveraging data as an asset. And they are using data to help think about sustainability goals, as that becomes part of every board conversation, how the organisation is positioned in relation to the impact they have.”

Many companies will be taking some action on improving how they use data and might congratulate themselves on their progress. But competitive risk comes less from other established companies like them, and more from companies that were data-led from the start, said Sutara.

“The competition will leave you behind because they already have a data-focused culture, particularly those newer organisations that are born in the cloud. You can see clear examples over the last couple of decades, like Uber versus traditional taxis, of organisations that harness the power of their data are moving much more quickly than those that aren’t taking action.”

How to become a data company

Recognising that your company is not making enough of its data assets is one thing, but how do you become a data-led company that realises all of that value?

You have to start with your people and culture, said Sutara.

“It is not just about technology, you have to think about people and processes – how do you ensure your organisation realises the value of data, thinks about the quality of data going into the system, measures the investment in data quality and turns this into value,” she said.

“The data culture is the hardest part of the transformation at any organisation so it’s getting people to change the way they’re doing their job and that is hard,” she said.

Discipline on what data is collected and how is crucial: you can’t capitalise on data if you have broken regulations in collecting or storing it. And ensuring the data is timely, relevant and accurate has a commercial imperative as well as a regulatory one: you will get better results with better data.

For established companies this can be daunting and the temptation to resist change until weverything is perfect is common, said Sutara.

“The biggest advice for organisations is: you are not going to solve every issue with one piece of technology or data solution. So start small, identify one business use case, one consumer value you can deliver, one employee process you can automate. Every organisation wants to talk about the sexy AI, machine learning, process automation and those things but getting the basics right for all of the data that exists in your organisation is what matters first.”

“I worry when organisations say ‘we can’t change anything across the business because we don’t have all of the data in a single platform or aggregated in a single source’. So my advice is always: start small, identify the one thing you can tackle,” she said.

How to store and protect the valuable data

All of this represents a significant investment. In some cases it will mean rewiring the whole organisation. So it is important to protect that investment by ensuring that you collect, store and use your data in a way that protects it and ensures it is not exploited by competitors.

This can be difficult because you can’t really ‘own’ data, said intellectual property expert Iain Connor of Pinsent Masons.

“Very often data is just a fact – you can’t own and control a fact. What’s important is who invests in pulling the data together. That can give you rights through database rights and rights to confidential information, but those rights depend on you behaving in a certain way,” he said.

Connor Iain

Iain Connor

Partner

You can’t own a fact – what’s important is who invests in pulling the data together

Database rights give you the right to exclusively exploit data where you have expended significant effort in gathering and verifying it, and where you continue to invest that effort in keeping it up to date.

“If a database is not maintained and managed and refreshed this undermines your ability to exploit it commercially,” said Connor.

Confidentiality rights are another protection available for data but the burden is on you to keep the information confidential. If it is released or legally obtained by someone else then you can’t usually stop them using your data.

It matters how the database was developed. Was it created in-house or by contractors? Where was it developed? Not every country recognises database rights. When was it created? If it goes out of data it loses protection. How was the data collected? That can affect what you can do with it.

These mechanics of data collection and storage have a direct and immediate effect on your ability to commercially exploit data as an asset.

Technology and data expert Nils Rauer also said that data ownership issues could be a barrier to obtaining full value from data as an asset.

“There are numerous ways that data can be proprietarily linked to a person or company. Personal data is linked to an individual. Trade secrets are linked to a company. Banks are linked to data through banking secrecy laws. But all these examples are not the same as ownership of a physical item. And proprietary allocation of data can overlap, such as in customer databases which might contain data that is personal data and is also subject to database rights. The database might also contain trade secrets,” he said.

“Lots of people take for granted that ownership of digital assets like data just exists, but that’s not always true. It’s the reason, for example, that NFTs (non-fungible tokens) have to have guidance about what the buyer can and can’t do with it written into the contract embedded in the NFT.”

The impact of data ownership issues

Technology expert Mark Marfé said that these issues have operational impacts. If a company wants a third party supplier to use an artificial intelligence (AI) tool to optimise its factory then it will have to give the supplier access to lots of commercially sensitive and proprietary data – without good data the AI tool will not produce valuable results.

“Some of this data might be of core importance and highly confidential, such as factory design and layout and process algorithms,” he said. “The manufacturer will understandably wish to limit access to the data, both in terms of personnel and purposes. But the supplier will want to be free to work on other projects in the future including for the manufacturer’s competitors”

“The challenge for the manufacturer is that data are not really owned rather, there are ownership-like rights that subsist over them. The manufacturer needs to build and maintain data ‘ownership’ into its contract with the supplier.”

This means detailed management of how the data is used; whether it is combined with third party data; where it is stored and processed, and what limits are placed on its use.

And Marfé said that some knowledge and insight will be built up by third parties and suppliers just form exposure to your data. This is not something that can be stopped.

“While it is possible to restrict the use of confidential information you cannot prevent the supplier’s staff from using the skill and knowledge they honestly acquired during the course of a project,” he said.

“This makes it all the more important that confidential information and trade secrets are documented and identified as confidential,” he said. “The English Courts have held that ‘confidential information’ can typically be traced to a particular source and it’s not something which has become so completely merged in the mind of the person that it’s impossible to identify the precise source of their knowledge in a particular area.”

“This makes it all the more important that confidential information and trade secrets are documented and identified as confidential,” he said.

Data trusts

If one of the main challenges is how to share and exploit data without risking losing control of it, then the solution is often to establish a data trust, said Andrew McMillan.

“A common definition of a data trust is that it is a legal structure that provides independent stewardship of data for an agreed purpose – that means it allows organisations to share data through an accountable, independent body for limited and specified purposes,” he said. “That really gets over the barriers between organisations which do not want to share data directly with each other.”

McMillan Andrew

Andrew McMillan

Partner, Head of Technology & Digital Markets

A data trust really gets over the barriers between organisations which do not want to share data directly with each other

Those three elements – that it is a legal entity; that it is independent; that the purpose is defined and limited – are all crucial, said McMillan.

“Historically data sharing has between just between two organisations, but this isn’t scalable,” he said. “Data trusts introduce scalability, which allows for data sharing at a scale never imaginable before. This in itself makes data more valuable as an asset, because once you aggregate your data with that of other providers of data, you can interrogate the combined data set and can make decisions and take actions based on the bigger picture rather than only your own data on a stand-alone basis.”

Data trusts allow access to data – or limited aspects of data – based on the agreed rules of the trust. This means that access can be granted to each data user according to the trust’s specific rules.

It also means that the data doesn’t have to be actually handed over to another organisation. Processing can happen without the data ever leaving the data owner’s system.

“Data does not necessarily need to be held in a central location by a steward,” said McMillan. “It can be decentralised so that no data leaves the servers of the provider, it becomes like an access protocol. Users can then query the data from multiple places and have their questions answered without data ever moving from one server to another.”

A data trust is just one emerging answer to the question of how companies better exploit their data assets. Data is transforming the economy and is now the major asset of many companies. Those that fail to change how they view data or fail to protect the data they have risk being left behind.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know

We are processing your request. \n Thank you for your patience. An unknown error occurred, please input and try again.