《巴黎协定》签订六年后,世界即将在格拉斯哥迎来最重要的气候大会,全球领导人将齐聚一堂,就应对气候变化的各项议题展开谈判,谈判结果对各国实现将全球升温控制在一定幅度以内的雄心至关重要。

虽然企业固然会认为他们对大会本身不会发挥很直接的作用,但仍应密切关注谈判结果,因为此次大会做出的决定对企业的未来将产生深刻影响,不仅会影响他们未来能开展何种业务活动、获得哪类融资,甚至还会改变他们目前所持资产的价值。

Watson Michael

Michael Watson

Partner.

应对气候危机刻不容缓。气候变化是我们这一代人迄今面临的最大的社会和商业风险,可能也是当今世界的突出特点,

“应对气候危机刻不容缓。气候变化是我们这一代人迄今面临的最大的社会和商业风险,可能也是当今世界的突出特点,”品诚梅森律师事务所气候行动和可持续发展业务组负责人Michael Watson如是说。“假如贵司从事贷款业务,且贷款期限通常为7年,但气候变化大约会在4年后严重影响贵司业务的运营活力,很明显,任何人都会倾向于采取措施减缓气候变化,并减少气候变化对业务的影响。”

然而,在过去18个月,我们发现尽管企业之前一直在谈论可持续发展、绿色资质和减缓气候危机等问题,但多数并没有付诸行动。

气候危机现在已成为许多消费者和客户透视组织的一面镜子,当然也成为了投资者、基金经理和金融机构的优先考量。大型银行和投资者目前普遍面临压力,要证明其已为项目提供资金,来助力气候危机的解决,而非加剧问题。另外,气候行动报告和透明度新规的出台,比如气候相关财务信息披露工作组(TFCD)这一国际机构的规则,说明组织比以往更负责任。

此外,在全球对气候问题进行了持续多年的宣传之后,投资者和公众的意识突然迅速发生了转变,尽管其中的原因目前尚不清楚,但影响已经显现,因为寻求融资的项目目前都面临证明绿色资质的压力。

参加2009年哥本哈根联合国气候变化大会谈判的英国前首相道格拉斯·亚历山大(Douglas Alexander)在品诚梅森精神食粮播客中表示,金融业的转型迅速而果断,着实令人惊讶。

Douglas Alexander

Strategic Advisor

如果误读气候风险,未来你将无法获得资本、保险,而且还必须对你的企业进行压力测试,以确认其韧性,

他说道:“最近我和克里斯蒂安娜·菲格雷斯(Christiana Figueres)进行了一次谈话。她是2015年巴黎联合国气候变化大会的首席谈判官员,这次大会成功通过了《巴黎协定》。在谈话中,她指出金融业是2015年巴黎气候变化大会以来增长最快的经济部门。金融业的活力一直在持续增强,这是因为金融的本质是控制风险、把握机会。”

“如果误读气候风险,未来你将无法获得资本、保险,而且还必须对你的企业进行压力测试,以确认其韧性,”他说道。“目前,资本、保险这些业务由保险业、央行和资本市场主导。了解气候风险是进入资本市场的一个基本前提,也是用来变革企业界的一个强大工具,因为未来企业获得资本的前提是不仅需要具有韧性,更需要为实现净零排放目标进行有效的转型。”

亚历山大接着说道:“如果投资者在考量企业业务模式时,认为搁浅资产会在转型过程中遭到淘汰,持有这些资产将面临巨大风险,那么风险溢价,或者说资本成本,就会增加。”

资深的企业内部律师应对气候问题予以重视,因为在企业应对气候危机的过程中,他们可能会发挥关键作用。从某个层面来讲,气候问题就是一个法律问题:各国将在本届大会上商定的旨在减少各国碳排放的国家自主贡献终将被纳入各国以及国际的法律、协定和监管条例之中。

但是,法律顾问和资深的企业内部律师还可以发挥更为基础的作用,那就是风险分析。什么是气候危机?就是一个会影响人类生存以及社会经济方方面面的巨大风险。就像政府一样,企业必须评估这个风险对各个领域的影响,以及应采取哪些行动来减少风险。

Watson表示,这恰好是企业内部律师的拿手本事。“律师的作用,尤其是在当前的环境下,是确保组织董事会恰当评估和充分了解组织面临的风险。我认为,建立这种影响力,并帮助企业和组织进行转型是法律顾问和律师普遍肩负的重大责任,也是他们面临的重大机遇。”

他说道:“气候变化的风险显现速度可能会超出而非低于任何人的预期,而识别和分析风险正是律师的专长。律师不会事事保持乐观,而且在风险问题上,他们可能是对的,但是律师可以设身处地地为企业着想,告诉企业:如果我是您,我会这么做。”

但是,企业目前面临一个重大挑战,即如何第一时间了解在气候变化这个问题上,他们造成的影响有多严重。令其头疼的第一个问题就是如何获取更可靠的数据,Watson说道。

“对于企业活动对环境的影响,尽管可获得的相关信息一直在不断增多,但相比于其他经典的绩效指标,比如利润和其他财务指标,气候信息的变化性和差异性无疑要明显得多。称衡量气候影响的方法超过2000种也不为过。”

接着,他又说道:“现在,许多有用的举措都在加速信息的收集,比如气候相关财务信息披露工作组,和其他类似举措。这些举措以迥然不同的方式收集更为可靠、更加完整的信息,来支持董事会及利益相关者进行决策。”

最后,Watson说道:“我认为,企业当前的第一要务是投资建立系统和流程来获取信息,同时设定清晰、务实、可衡量的目标。现在已有一些企业为我们设立了绝佳的范例,他们为了最终实现净零排放,制定了明确、可实现的目标,推动企业采取了意义深远的行为。由此可见,保持透明度、明确衡量标准,并制定清晰、可操作的行动计划是关键。”

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

The most important climate meeting in six years is taking place in Glasgow as world leaders try to carve out deals that will be decisive for countries’ ambitions to keep global temperatures within some kind of control.

And though businesses will rightly conclude that they don’t have much of a direct role to play in COP26 itself, they should be watching the outcomes closely because decisions made in Glasgow will have a profound impact on their future, affecting what kind of activity will be possible, what kind of funding will be available and even changing the value of assets currently held.

Watson Michael

Michael Watson

Partner

The climate emergency represents the greatest risk to society and to business that we have seen in our generation and is probably the defining characteristic of our generation

“The climate emergency represents the greatest risk to society and to business that we have seen in our generation and is probably the defining characteristic of our generation,” said Michael Watson, who advises companies on climate action and sustainability for Pinsent Masons. “If you are a lender to a business and your average loan life is seven years but the average life of a significant impact of climate change on the operational viability of your business is four years, clearly everybody should be interested in mitigating climate change and mitigating the impact of climate change in that business.”

Something has happened in the past 18 months – companies talked before about sustainability and green credentials and climate crisis mitigation, but, for most, action was muted.

The climate crisis is now the lens through which many consumers and clients see an organisation, and it is certainly at the forefront of the minds of investors, fund managers and financial institutions. Major banks and investors are under pressure to demonstrate that they are funding solutions to the crisis, not adding to the problem. And new rules on reporting and transparency such as the rules of international body the Task Force On Climate Related Financial Disclosures, mean that organisations are more accountable than ever before.

It is not clear why the change in investor and public mood has been so swift after many years of sustained campaigning on the issue, but the impact is already being felt as projects seeking funding come under pressure to demonstrate green credentials.

Former UK minister and former COP negotiator in Copenhagen in 2009 Douglas Alexander told Pinsent Masons’ Brain Food podcast that the financial sector’s conversion has been as swift and decisive as it has been surprising.

Alexander Douglas_March 2020

Douglas Alexander

Strategic Advisor

If you misread the climatic risks, then you are not going to get access to capital in the future, you are not going to get insurance in the future and you are going to have to undertake stress tests on your business to establish that you are a resilient business

“I spoke to Christiana Figueres recently who was the lead negotiator in the successful Paris Conference Of The Parties that led to the Paris Agreement in 2015 and she singled out the finance industry as the sector of the economy that has stepped up most since Paris in 2015,” he said. “In the financial sector the momentum has continued to build and that is because finance comes down to a calibration of risk as well as a calibration of opportunity.”

“If you misread the climatic risks, then you are not going to get access to capital in the future, you are not going to get insurance in the future and you are going to have to undertake stress tests on your business to establish that you are a resilient business,” he said. “Those conversations are being led by the insurance industry, by central banks, by the capital markets. The understanding of risks that is fundamental to the capital markets is a very powerful instrument of change in the corporate sector because your access to capital in the future is going to be based not only on whether your business is resilient but whether your business is transitioning effectively to that net zero future.”

“The premium, the cost of capital, is simply going to be higher if, when investors consider your business model, they judge that their risk is high of holding a stranded asset that is going to be left behind by the transition,” said Alexander.

Senior in-house lawyers should take note, because they are likely to be central to companies’ response to the crisis. At one level it is a legal issue: the nationally determined contributions (NDCs) that nations will agree at COP26 to reduce their carbon emissions will eventually find their way into national and international laws, treaties and regulations.

But there is a more fundamental role for GCs and senior in-house lawyers, and that is to do with the analysis of risk. What is the climate crisis but one huge, all-encompassing risk? And companies, just like governments, have to make judgements about how big that risk is in a range of areas, and what kind of action will mitigate it.

This is right in the skillset of in-house lawyers, says Watson. “The role of a lawyer, particularly in this environment, is to ensure that the board of an organisation properly assesses and understands the risks that their organisation is facing. I think it is a great responsibility and a great opportunity for general counsel and lawyers generally to have that level of influence and to help their business and organisation transition.”

“It is likely that climate change risks are going to emerge more quickly than one could have anticipated rather than more slowly, and lawyers are good at identifying and analysing risks,” he said. “They are not always glass full people, and in this scenario they may be right, but they can put themselves in the shoes of the corporate and say: if I were you, I would do the following.”

But a major challenge that companies have is getting an understanding in the first place of just how big their contribution to the problem is. Better data is the first major hurdle, Watson said.

“The amount of information about the impact of your activities on the environment is increasing all the time but undoubtedly, compared to other classic performance metrics such as profit and other financial metrics, climate information is much more varied and disparate. One could argue there are over 2,000 different ways of measuring climate impact.”

“There is a lot of really useful initiatives that are really accelerating now like the Task Force For Climate Related Financial Disclosures and other similar initiatives which are making a huge difference in bringing together better, more complete information on which boards and their stakeholders can make decisions,” he said.

"I think the first thing to do is to invest in the systems and processes to gather that information and to set clear and measurable targets that are realistic,” said Watson. “There are some great examples of the publication of clear attainable targets all aligned to the ultimate net zero challenge that have really driven great corporate behaviour so transparency and measurement are at the heart of it combined with an action plan that is clear and deliverable.”

Out-Law / Your daily need to know