蓝色星

未雨绸缪,英国脱欧

英国退出欧盟的历史性决定意味着企业领导人需要他们的法律顾问能够提供答案,通常这种答案并不存在。品诚梅森致力于帮助法律顾问思考这些答案并说服公司的高层。

我们推出了一系列以英国脱欧为主题的活动,并采取了不同以往的方式。这是为了帮助企业消除英国脱欧与生俱来的不确定性,以便客户能够为英国脱欧做好切实的计划。

挑战

我们的挑战在于避免陷入对英国脱欧进程与法律的详细分析。与此同时,就算你能把“天知道会发生什么”的建议说得天花乱坠,但对于客户而言并无实用价值。

与客户讨论时,我们很清楚他们需要:

  • 深入了解脱欧进程,不只是从法律的角度,而是从英国和欧盟不同体制的角度
  • 一个模式,可以帮助客户形象地了解英国脱欧可能带来的后果,明确相关的英国脱欧准备预案并进行排序和管理;
  • 战术工具,以便他们可以回答企业内部有关英国脱欧的日常咨询,从而让他们能够关注更大的全局战略。
品诚梅森被认为是英国脱欧领域的思想领袖。我们是伦敦五大“神奇圈”律师事务所之外,唯一曾经两次获邀参加财政部英国脱欧影响座谈会的律所。

解决方案

在英国脱欧公投之前,品诚梅森任命原英国欧洲和国际事务部大臣Douglas Alexander担任战略顾问。我们还在公共政策部门进行战略投资,以确保我们在英国一旦决定退出欧盟时能占据先机,为客户提供有关这一政治和法律进程的咨询服务。

公投前后,品诚梅森还招揽到著名的军事形势策划师Lynette Nusbacher。双方合作建立了一种模型,能令客户清晰了解到根据不同的拐点,英国脱欧对其业务的影响。

在公投结果公布后的几周内,品诚梅森又推出了“快闪”英国脱欧咨询中心。这一在线中心可以帮助面临大量内部日常咨询的客户进行外包,从而集中精力制定相关战略。

最终,品诚梅森吸引客户来了解中心的Vario兼职律师如何提供支持。这种方式非常少见,因为在公投之后,许多PLC冻结了临时招聘的行为 。

结果

大量知名企业参加了我们的情境计划研讨会并受邀到我们的公共政策部门,来理解政治进程并在适当的时机参与。与此相似,许多主要客户访问了我们的在线英国脱欧咨询服务。

我们对于英国脱欧挑战采取的创新解决方案,帮助我们建立起了该领域市场领导者的声誉。我们是除伦敦五大“神奇圈”律师事务所之外,唯一获邀参加财政部英国脱欧影响座谈会的律师事务所,现在,我们在2017版《Legal 500》中凭借英国脱欧咨询工作,进入了1级律所之列。

  • 一家此前与我们没有任何业务关系的大型汽车企业(保密) 联系我们,想要安排一次我们英国脱欧产品的展示。后来,我们受邀为其专家小组制定目标;
  • 英国脱欧合约解决方案还帮助我们赢得了众多大型制造企业的大量商业合同起草工作。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

The UK's unprecedented decision to leave the EU means business leaders are looking to their general counsel for answers, often where none exist. Pinsent Masons has sought to help GCs develop those answers and engage at board level.

We rolled out a series of Brexit-themed campaigns deploying unusual approaches. This was to help negate the inherent uncertainty and enable clients to plan meaningfully for and engage with Brexit.

The challenge

Our challenge was to avoid the classic trap of delivering detailed analysis of the Brexit processes and laws. While of relevance, elaborate versions of 'nobody knows' advice are of little practical use to clients.

In discussion with our clients it was clear that they needed:

  • in-depth understanding of the exit process, not just from a legal perspective but within UK and European institutions
  • a model to help clients visualise how Brexit might occur, and identify, prioritise and manage related Brexit-readiness programmes;
  • tactical tools to enable them to answer day to day queries from within their business so that they could focus on the wider strategic picture.
Pinsent Masons has been recognised as a thought leader in the area of Brexit. We were the only firm outside the Magic Circle invited to two Treasury sessions on the impact of Brexit.

The solution

Ahead of the Brexit referendum Pinsent Masons appointed former secretary of state for international affairs and minister for Europe Douglas Alexander as a strategic adviser. We also made strategic investments into our public policy division to ensure that we were well positioned to provide counsel to clients on the political and legislative processes in the event of a UK exit from the EU.

Before and after the vote the firm retained a renowned military scenario planner, Lynette Nusbacher. Together we developed a model to which would enable clients to develop a detailed picture of what Brexit could mean for their business depending on different inflection points.

Within weeks of the referendum result, the firm rolled out a 'pop-up' Brexit advisory hub. This online hub enabled clients facing a large volume of day to day enquiries from their business to effectively outsource those and stay focused on strategy.

Finally, the firm engaged with clients to see how its hub of freelance lawyers, Vario, could provide support. This was highly pertinent given the temporary recruitment freezes introduced by many PLCs in the aftermath of the vote.

The results

A wide range of household name businesses took part in our scenario planning workshops and engaged with our public policy unit to understand the political process and engage where appropriate. Similarly, a number of major clients availed themselves of our online Brexit advisory service.

Our creative and solutions-oriented approach to the Brexit challenge has helped us develop a reputation as a market-leader in this area. We were the only firm outside of the traditional 'Magic Circle' law firms to be invited to participate in a number of HM Treasury sessions on the impact of Brexit, and we are now ranked Tier 1 for Brexit advisory work in the Legal 500 UK 2017.

  • A major automotive business with whom we had no prior relationship contacted us for a demonstration of our Brexit products. We were subsequently invited to pitch for its panel;

Brexit Contracting Solutions has also enabled us to win significant commercial contracts work with a number of major manufacturers.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know