Image: future design shape

可以满足未来需求的法律顾问

随着全球竞争环境正在向数字化和全球化转型,法律顾问(GC)的角色同样有了新的定义。那么,今天的法律顾问如何才能做到不被淘汰呢?

 

众所周知,法律顾问的工作在这个时代并不轻松。十年来爆炸式增长的监管法规、降低法务开支的巨大压力,以及采纳新工艺和新技术的需求,让大部分的法律顾问肩负沉重的责任。

要想掌握做好现代 GC 所需的技能,那就需要进行实践。企业法律业务联盟 (CLOC)是面向企业法律专员的人际网络,他们确定了12项可以让法律顾问优化法律服务的职能,包括要了解数据分析、技术支持以及服务交付,以及其他支持模式。

如今的法律顾问在职业生涯之初很少会将这些作为必备技能。现在,这些技能都是不可或缺的能力。

 

变化的范围

不过,由于法律专业人士依然在转型的道路上艰难前进,法律顾问正在培养多方面的技能以确保其所在的部门可以满足公司的期望和预算。

过去十年最大的变化或许就是,法律顾问的角色从法律案件专家变为专业领域的专家和解决问题的高手。

咨询公司 Adam Smith Esq 的创始人 Bruce MacEwen 表示,只有了解时事新闻的人,才能在关键时刻一招致胜。他说,许多律师虽然在很大程度上保持着被动应对的工作方式,却有着不错的收入,但随着金融危机之后法规工作和立法环境的重要性不断增加,企业不得不密切关注合规性以及预防性措施。

律师并不一定具有这方面的知识。咨询机构 Beaton Global 的创始人 George Beaton 表示:哪家法学院会教授预防性法律呢?并没有。

随着内部法律团队的不断发展壮大,他们的职责范围也在变化,因此对于法律顾问的期望也演变为希望他们成为企业的守护者,保护企业有效、高效的业务职能。

 

了解法律的诞生

虽然法务部门的重要性和影响力不断增加,企业的高管和财务总监依然对于法务部门的价值有所怀疑。

许多试图节省成本的法律顾问也取得了一些唾手可得的结果。专家小组整合、大幅减少非专家小组活动,以及内部团队的扩大均促成了这一结果。

然而,Acritas 的年度 SharpLegal 研究报告访问了全球各大企业的 2,000 位内部法律顾问之后,发现仍有60%的机构在分配法律开支方面存在低效的问题。该报告建议法律顾问应当争取将至少 40%的法律开支用于企业的内部职能,一旦超过70%通常会导致效率降低。

在成熟的法律部门中,法律顾问的职责越来越关系到企业的运营效率。

George Beaton 将这种情况类比为 20 世纪汽车行业不断创新的局面。他认为法律顾问应当深入到运营管理的各个主要部分,就像是 20 世纪汽车行业的创新先锋们通过熟悉生产线上的各个环节实现了生产的革命。

了解提供法律服务的流程是提升工作效率的关键,还可以改善最终产品的可靠性。

咨询公司 Adam Smith Esq 的创始人 Bruce MacEwen 对此表示赞同,认为法律顾问会经常发现外包法务工作通常更为划算,尤其是在法务工作的内容并不涉及公司本身的核心能力时。

好消息是,法律顾问现在获得了前所未有的广泛选择。混合式外包模式不断完善,依靠更为精准的比例:内部的永久资源;灵活的派遣法律资源;外包给私人执业法律事务所的资源;以及广泛使用新的法律业务、技术供应商、法务流程外包等。 

当然,结果是法律顾问现在必须成为企业发展的模型架构师。此外,他们除了要有核心的法律专长,还需要具备优化组合不同类型的技能和专业能力。

 

超越律师的思维

Michele DeStefano 是迈阿密大学的法律教授,也是 LawWithoutWalls 的创始人,该机构致力于帮助法律专业的学生培养从事现代法律工作所需的技能。

她认为法律顾问未来会成为更加全面的专业人员,而且很可能需要拥有多种职业资格,包括法律和商业的学位,并且在企业中扮演不同的角色,给予他们与创新和风险管理相关的技能。

她还认为法律顾问必须在项目管理和领导力方面尤其熟练,同时积累广泛的行业和技术知识。

MacEwen 非常赞同这种意见。鉴于其他一些资源也开始提供法律服务,他预计会在法律机构中看到更多的非法律专业人员 Beaton先生则表示:我认为那些知道自己的不足并引入这方面专家的法律顾问非常值得称赞,他们打开了自己的思路。他坚信律师同其他行业的专业人才、顾问以及技术天才携手合作,可以显著提升内部法律团队的价值。

MacEwen 先生认为必须引入这些专家并给予平等的待遇,即不在有没有律师头衔这件事上较真。他认为很多例子表明,没有头衔同样可以引领法律事务所以及新型法律机构的流程和技术规范工作。不过,此等变化的推行并不简单,需要广泛的讨论。

Morrison Alastair

Alastair Morrison

Head of Client Strategy

法律顾问需要有非常广泛的技能包,并且要对企业及其运营与核心流程获得深入的理解,因此是实现下一波演化发展的完美对象

从非敌即友到相互协作

LawWithoutWalls 的创始人 Michele DeStefano 建议,法律顾问同外部法律咨询机构之间的关系同样必须改变,其中外部法律机构必须在与客户的互动过程中承担更多的参谋类角色。

Beaton 先生认为,传统的合作关系涉及简报、往来邮件、简报说明以及邀约邮件,或许过于呆板且枯燥。

尽管许多法律顾问已经减少了专家小组讨论时法律事务所的邀请数量,以更好地分配预算,但很少有法律顾问能够利用这一绝佳机会,推动更好的协作方式并与受信任的内部核心顾问分享知识。

受信任的内外部核心成员可以对特定问题提供市场看法,或者为客户提供更具相关性的建议。他们还非常值得信赖,以获取说明和建议,并对全面寻找进一步提升交付模型所需的新型工具和资源。

Alastair Morrison 是品诚梅森的客户战略负责人,他表示法律顾问以及他们的私人执业同行,不仅有机会,也有责任这么做。律师在过去被视为紧急服务的提供者,现在利用新的技术和工作规范,让法律顾问有机会防患于未然。 

Morrison 对此说道:法律顾问需要有非常广泛的技能包,并且要对企业及其运营与核心流程获得深入的理解,因此是实现下一波演化发展的完美对象


Out-Law / 您的日常须知

Image: future design shape
5 min. read

The future-proof GC

As the global competitive landscape is transformed by digitisation and globalisation, so too is the role of GC being redefined. How can today's GCs stay relevant for the future? 


No one could accuse the typical general counsel of getting an easy ride. A decade of skyrocketing regulations, pressure to reduce legal expenditure and a need to embrace new processes and technology, has imposed a heavy burden for the GC to bear.

Absorbing the skills necessary to perform the modern-day GC role takes some doing. The Corporate Legal Operations Consortium (CLOC), a corporate legal professional network, identifies 12 functions that ‘optimise’ legal services delivery. These include an understanding of data analytics, technology support and service delivery, and alternative support models.

Few of today’s GCs would have ever considered these as desirable skills at the outset of their careers. Now, they are essential.


A changing remit

Yet, as the legal profession continues to inch along a transformative path, GCs are developing these multifaceted skills to ensure that their departments meet expectations and budgets.

Perhaps the most significant change of the past decade has been a move away from the paradigm of GC as subject matter-expert and trouble shooter.

"The lawyers who get the headlines are the ones that ‘ride in and slay the dragon’, says Bruce MacEwen, the founder of Adam Smith Esq, the consulting firm. He says many lawyers are still largely reactive and are financially rewarded for being so, but with the weight of regulation and legislation that has ramped up following the financial crisis, businesses are having to pay much closer attention to compliance and pre-emptive measures.

This is something that doesn’t necessarily come naturally to lawyers. “Which law school teaches preventive law?” asks George Beaton, the founder of consultancy Beaton Global. “You won’t find one.”

As in house teams have grown and the scope of their role evolved, so too has expectation upon GCs to be the custodians of an effective, efficient, business-enabling function.

 

Understanding the manufacture of law

Irrespective of the increasing importance and influence of legal functions, the scepticism among Chief Executives and Finance Directors concerning the value delivered by legal persists.

Many GCs looking for cost savings have already harvested the low-hanging fruit. Panel consolidation, greater deterrence of 'off-panel' arrangements, and the expansion of in-house teams has all yielded results.

And yet, 60% of organisations allocate legal spend inefficiently, according to Acritas’s annual SharpLegal study, involving 2,000 interviews with in-house counsels in organisations around the world. It suggests that GCs should look to allocate at least 40% of legal expenditure to the business’s own internal legal function, but any more than 70% would typically reduce efficiency.

In mature legal functions, the role of GC is becoming increasingly concerned with operational productivity.

George Beaton likens the situation to that of the automotive innovators of the 20th century. He says GCs should immerse themselves in all the key components of operational management, in much the same way that the great automotive innovators of the 20th century familiarised themselves with all elements of the production line to revolutionise production.

Understanding the process by which legal service is being produced is key to driving greater efficiency, and can also improve the reliability of the end product.

Bruce MacEwen, the founder of Adam Smith Esq, the consulting firm, agrees that GCs will often discover that outsourcing legal work is more economical, especially when it involves matters that are not the core competence of the company itself.

The good news is that GCs now have wider choice than ever before. Hybrid resourcing models are evolving, relying on a more nuanced mix of: permanent in-house resource; flexible contract legal resource; outsourced resource to private practice law firms; and a wider use of New Law businesses, technology vendors, legal process outsourcing businesses and more besides. 

The consequence, however, is that the GC must now become the architects of the right model for their organisation. Further, they will need to be able to better integrate a wide range of skillsets and specialisms aside from core legal expertise.

 

Morrison Alastair

Alastair Morrison

Head of Client Strategy

A GC with a broad skill-set and a deep understanding of the business, its operations and core processes, is perfectly placed to deliver that next wave of evolution.

Thinking beyond lawyers

Michele DeStefano is a professor of law at the University of Miami and the founder of LawWithoutWalls, an organisation that helps law students to develop the necessary skills to succeed in the modern legal profession.

She believes that GCs are going to be much more rounded individuals in the future, potentially having multiple qualifications including law and business degrees, and having performed varied roles in businesses, giving them the skills that are aligned to both innovation and risk management.

She suggests that GCs will need to be especially adept at project management and leadership, while maintaining extensive industry and technological knowledge.

Mr MacEwen echoes the sentiment. Given the rise of a range of alternative resources to deliver legal services, he expects to see a greater prominence of non-legal professionals in legal operations. “I think GCs deserve a lot of credit for knowing what they don’t know and bringing in experts that do, and getting out of their way”, says Mr Beaton. He believes that turning to talented non-lawyers, consultants and ‘technology savvy’ individuals can significantly enhance the value of in-house legal teams.

Mr MacEwen says that it is imperative that these experts are brought in and treated as equals, that there should be no division between lawyers and ‘non-lawyers’. He believes there are plenty of examples of non-lawyers successfully heading process and technology driven practices in law firms and in ‘new law’ organisations.  However, delivering scale of that change will not be easy and require wider perspectives.

 

From dichotomy to collaboration

Michele DeStefano, the founder of LawWithoutWalls suggests that the relationships between GCs and their external legal advisers are also going to have to change, with external counsel taking a more consigliere type role in their dealings with clients.

The traditional arms-length relationship involving briefs, return letters, clarifications of the brief and then letters of engagement is too stilted and sterile, Mr Beaton suggests.

Although many GCs have reduced the number of law firms on their panels in order to better-leverage their purchasing power, few have sufficiently leveraged the simultaneous opportunity to drive better collaboration and sharing of knowledge with a trusted inner core of advisers.

A trusted core – internally and externally – can do more than simply provide a 'market view' on particular issues, or better contenxtualise advice to the client. They can also be better-relied upon for introductions, recommendations and horizon-watching for new tools and resources that can further enhance delivery models.

Alastair Morrison, Head of Client Strategy at Pinsent Masons, says GCs and their private practice cousins have not just the opportunity - but the duty – to do so. Lawyers have typically been used as an emergency service, but new technology and working practices afford the opportunity to build fences at the top of the cliff instead of providing the ambulance at the bottom. 

Says Morrison, "A GC with a broad skill-set and a deep understanding of the business, its operations and core processes, is perfectly placed to deliver that next wave of evolution".

PM