Image of mixed group of people

为何性别倡议遭遇失败

不断增加的商业、社交和法规压力,令工作场所的性别平等从未像现在这样成为董事会的重要议程。对于许多公司的首席执行官而言,实现更好的性别平衡不仅十分重要,而且深不可测。企业领导者如何在这种复杂的领域实现有意义的进步?

 

员工多元性的学术案例有很多。

McKinsey 2015 年调查了 366 家上市公司,发现在性别多样性方面位居前25%的企业在财务回报方面有15%的几率高于行业平均水平

瑞士信贷对 2,400 家企业进行的相似研究发现,至少拥有一名女性董事的企业相比没有女性董事的企业拥有更高的股权收益和净收入增长率。

尽管数量众多、且不断增加的证据展现出这一点,许多机构无法实现这种效果。采取可能矛盾的变化,而不确定的长期结果看起来并无太大吸引力去做股东的季度轮换。

虽然,长期机会的希望不足以激励某些企业,短期风险的阴影可能会改变形势。

英国引入性别薪资差异报告,尽管这和提高多元性以及平等性并没有直接联系,但确实表明政策制定者通过制定法规来干预这一情况的意愿正在增加。

此外,性别多元化表现糟糕的企业还必须面临品牌形象受损、无法满足客户和顾客的期望,以及难以吸引出色的毕业生。

在如今这个时代,由于求职者可以充分了解到潜在雇主的信息,存在品牌问题的企业无法像过去那样吸引优秀人才。

 

行业领军

认识到需要改变是一个问题;积极应对这种改变则是另一个问题。这在充满错误开始的环境下,尤其如此。与失败相关的常见问题随即出现。

若变革计划未能实现承诺的效果,常见的决定性因素就是高管和董事会的参与度。

性别多元性对于企业的重要性未能充分明确表达的原因还涉及其他因素,例如人资总监或者多元性和包容性,承担着解决女性问题的任务。结果,性别多元性成为一个次要问题,相比某些其他管理项目,这个议题他们完全可以不加考虑。 

高管团队必须了解,身先士卒地解决性别多元性是一个无法轻视的问题。他们必须直接倾听女性在企业中的诉求,同时了解阻止她们达到高管职位的障碍。他们需要承担责任的不是短期项目,而是长期计划,以改变大多数企业通常偏向男性的企业文化。

 

Image: mentoring and sponsorship

性别进步是KPI指标

很多情况下,成败可以归因于某些很小但很重要的区别。认识到指导和保荐之间的区别就是其中之一。

指导对于帮助女性晋升到高管职位具有非常重要的作用,但保荐是一种更加有力的因素。通过保荐,经理有责任为公司内部的优秀个人提供公开支持。

保荐意味着经理有责任积极推动她们成长,而不是通过指导进行更为被动的鼓励。

企业中的个人必须承担起同事职业生涯路径的责任,并且因为帮助他们实现目标而获得表彰。经理的鼓励或关键绩效指标(KPI)应当考量他们将女性推上管理岗位的能力。

这一点特别重要,因为相比男性,女性一般来说缺少主动寻求升职的自信,尤其是在西方国家。保荐人以及经理应当意识到这一点,并主动鼓励女性参与竞争。

 

激励男性 

另一个区别则是意识到改善性别多元性不单单可以让女性受益。

很多时候性别多元性计划的语言可能含有帮助女性的意思。这会导致人们未能意识到有效的性别多元性计划在于清除横亘职业道路上的性别障碍,尽管这种障碍对于女性的影响要大于男性。

男性应当同样有机会获得灵活而弹性的工作;他们应当获得相同的弹性工作时间以承担照顾子女的责任;他们应当根据他们的工作质量以及对于公司的贡献来评价,而不是在办公室的工作时间。

重要的是,企业应当鼓励担任高管的男性对照这些原则和工作规范,并为他们进行宣传说明。

在某些企业,这可能意味着一名男性可能领导着改善家庭工作规范的工作小组。如果指派女性担任该职位,这可能会增强女性主要负责照顾子女的印象。

在其他一些企业,我们看到高管在一定程度上允许尽可能在家工作,并鼓励员工参与,以免让弹性工作时间遭受误解。

现代工作规范,例如远程工作、弹性工作时间以及灵活工作,必须被视作一种组织原则,而不是女性的特别福利。

 

建立信任和基础设施

技术的发展为创新更为灵活的弹性工作方式提供了无与伦比的机会。不过,如果企业文化缺少相应的变化,效果微乎其微。

工作描述中的传统语言则是经典的案例。职位广告中可能表示需要竞争力和出色的领导力,这些特性可能不会立刻引起女性的兴趣,或者令男性更有机会。因此企业应当专注于更为多样的特性,包括协作、创新以及带来改观。

这仅仅是人力资源部门需要积极参与的又一个领域。他们需要开发目标绩效标准,不能抓着过时的标准不放。通常有利于男性的绩效考核流程需要重新设计构建。企业文化中不利于女性的部分需要进行锁定并解决。

劳动合同的语言可能同样需要重新组织。例如劳动合同中说明了企业期望员工的工作时间,却并没有说明这对于评估个人的工作能力有何影响。

所有这些步骤均离不开信任,否则技术的用途非常有限。

 

放轻松,大家都还在摸索阶段

最后需要注意的一点是,要想消除这种信任,放任自满情绪无疑是最快的方式。过度沉迷于成就,隐藏负面统计数据的企业经常会面临最为严重的声誉问题。尽管进步需要予以表彰,过度自信可能迅速让人以为一切已经不成问题。很少有企业能真正称得上自己已经完美无缺。大多数企业会说仍有很多唾手可得的目标等待着人们去实现。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

Image of mixed group of people
6 min. read

Why gender initiatives fail

Increasing commercial, societal and regulatory pressure has pushed workplace gender parity up the boardroom agenda like never before. For many CEOs, achieving a better balance is simultaneously mission-critical and unfathomable. How can leaders drive meaningful progress in such a complex area?


The academic case for workforce diversity has been made many times.

A survey of 366 public companies published by McKinsey in 2015 found that those in the top quartile for gender diversity were 15% more likely to have financial returns above their industry mean.

Similar research by Credit Suisse found that, in a survey of 2,400 businesses, those with at least one female board member yielded higher return on equity and higher net income growth than those who did not.

Despite the overwhelming - and burgeoning - body of evidence demonstrating the point, many organisations struggle to embrace the issue. Making potentially controversial changes with uncertain long-term results can seem unattractive amid the quarterly cycle of shareholder updates.

Where the promise of long-term opportunity has not been enough incentive for some, the looming shadow of short-term risk may yet change things.

The introduction of gender pay gap reporting in the UK - though not directly linked to promoting diversity as much as equality - shows the increasing willingness of policymakers to intervene with regulation.

Additionally, businesses with a poor record for gender diversity also face the downsides of damage to the corporate brand, an inability to meet the expectations of clients and customers, and growing problems with attracting discerning graduates.

In an era where talent has greater access to information about prospective employers than ever, an employer brand problem can hit the talent pipeline like never before.

 

Leading from the front

Recognising the need for change is one issue; responding to it effectively is another. This is particularly the case in an arena replete with false starts. Common themes for failure emerge.

Where change programmes do fail to deliver on their promise, typically the determining factor is the level of engagement of the Chief Executive and Board.

The reasons why gender diversity is vital to the business are not communicated, and others - such as an HR director or Head of Diversity and Inclusion - are tasked with ‘fixing the women problem’. As a result, gender diversity becomes a side-issue, and for some another management initiative they could do without. 

Senior management must recognise that taking a lead in dealing with gender diversity is an issue which cannot be delegated. They must listen directly to women in the business and understand the barriers that are preventing them from achieving more senior positions. They need to take responsibility not for a short-term project, but for long-term programme to change a business culture that in most organisations typically favours men.

 

Image: mentoring and sponsorship

Encouraging sponsorship

Gender progress as a KPI

Often success or failure can be distilled down to small but important distinctions. One is recognising the difference between mentoring and sponsorship.

Mentoring is clearly important in helping women into more senior roles, but sponsorship is an even more powerful driver. With sponsorship, managers have a responsibility to endorse individuals within the business.

Sponsoring puts the onus on the manager to actively promote the cause of their charge, rather than the more passive role of encouragement implied by mentoring.

Individuals within the organisation must be given responsibility for a colleague’s career path and be rewarded for helping them to achieve targets. A manager’s appraisal or key performance indicator (KPI) should take into account their ability to bring women into leadership roles.

This is especially important because women are in general less confident than men in putting their hand up for promotion. Studies have shown that men typically have higher self-esteem, especially in the West. Sponsors and managers should acknowledge this and take responsibility in bringing women to the start line. 

 

Engaging men 

A further distinction is the recognition that efforts to improve diversity are not only of benefit to women.

Too often the language of diversity programmes carry the subtext of 'helping women'.  This fails to recognise that effective programmes are about removing arbitrary impediments to progress that often impact women to a greater extent than men.

Men should have the same opportunities for agile and flexible working; they should be given the same flexibility to take on childcare responsibilities; they should be judged on the quality of their work and contribution to the business, not the number of hours in the office.

It is important that men in senior positions within the business are encouraged to align themselves with these principles and working practices - and evangelise for them.

In some organisations, this might mean a man leading a working group to improve family-friendly working practices. If a woman were appointed to this role, it would typically reinforce the stereotype that women are to take primary charge of childcare.

In other organisations, we have seen Chief Executives makes a specific point of working from home as much possible – and promote the fact with staff – to de-stigmatise flexible working.

Modern working practices - such as remote, flexible and agile working - need to be seen as organisational principles rather than special benefits for women.

 

Building trust and infrastructure

Technology offers unparalleled opportunities to create more flexible and accommodating working patters. However this counts for little without associated cultural change.

The traditional language used in job descriptions is a classic example. Roles might be advertised as requiring 'competitiveness and strong leadership', attributes that may not immediately appeal to women, or capable men for that matter. So businesses should focus on a greater variety of traits including an appetite for collaboration, innovation and making a difference.

This is just one area in which HR departments will need to be engaged. Work will be required to develop objective performance measures which are not based on outdated metrics. Assessment processes that typically favour men will need to re-imagined and re-engineered. Cultures that disproportionately impact women will need to be identified and addressed.

Similarly, the language of employment terms and conditions may need to be re-aligned. There are few better examples of that than where employment contracts state the hours an employee is expected to spend in the office, without reference to how that impacts the individual's ability to do the job.

All these steps are required to engender trust, without which the technology is of limited use.

 

Take comfort from the fact that nobody has it right

One final note of caution is that there is no quicker way to erode that trust than allow complacency. Organisations which over-celebrate achievements and hide negative statistics often face the most significant reputational challenges down the track. While progress should be recognised, over-confidence can quickly give rise to an impression that there is no longer a problem. Few organisations can truly say that they have nothing left to achieve. Most can say there is still plenty of low-hanging fruit.