Out-Law / 您的日常须知

在英格兰与威尔士执行判决

Out-Law指南 | 16 Apr 2019 | 2:29 pm |

本指南最近更新于2011年8月。

如果在英格兰和威尔士以外获得了判决或法院命令,由于你的债务人居于英格兰或威尔士或在当地拥有资产,你可能希望在英格兰或威尔士执行判决。执行判决的方法在很大程度上取决于其来源国或国家以及判决或命令的性质。

按其便利降序排列,国家可分为四种类别中的一个或多个:

适用《欧洲执行令》(EEO)规则的国家;

已签署《布鲁塞尔规则》或《卢加诺公约》的国家;

与英国签订双边执法公约的国家;

以上都不适用的国家——尤其是美国,日本和中国

欧洲执行令规则

这是一种选择方法,可在欧盟范围内实现简单、快速的执行。它能用于对无争议的索赔获得的金钱判决。在可能的情况下,应优先考虑其他需要更长时间且更复杂的制度。

在以下几种情况中债务人可使用本规则:

同意债务,且经由法院在同意令中批准;

完全没有为索赔辩护,所以默认判决;

在审理索赔时,没有在法庭上为索赔辩护。

一个真正的好处在于,申请是通过直接完成规定的文书工作,包括有关的判决,向初始法院、而不是在英格兰和威尔士提出。欧洲执行规则证书一经颁发,判决就会被视为执行成员国已实施。尔后可以使用通常的执行方法,例如申请财产扣押令或扣押收入令。

布鲁塞尔规则

该规则也适用于所有欧盟国家,并为相互承认和执行欧盟判决提供了相对简单的程序。一般情况下,如果无法采用欧洲执法令规则,应该只在欧盟范围内使用此方法——例如,因对听证会的结果有争议,或如果需像执行禁令或特殊命令等非金钱判决。

该规则仅适用于民事或商业诉讼中的判决或法院命令——不包括刑事、破产或破产程序,或涉及自然人身份或法律行为能力,婚姻关系产生的财产权,遗嘱与继承权的诉讼。它也不适用于仲裁裁决,包括赋予仲裁裁决司法效力的法院命令。有关一般执行仲裁裁决的问题,请参阅Out-Law发布的《国际仲裁最佳实践指引》。

申请须在执行地进行——即在英格兰和威尔士。需提交包括判决在内的各类文件,如非英文,你还需要提交一份经过认证的翻译版本。具体程序由《民事诉讼程序规则》管辖。

只要履行了特定手续,英格兰或威尔士的执法法院就应宣布具可执行性的判决,而非重新审理案件。与《欧洲执行令》监管方法一样,一旦判决得到承认,你仍需继续采取通常的执法步骤。

基于以下理由,上诉可能会成功,例如:

判决违反了英格兰和威尔士的公共政策;

该判决与任何其他成员国在涉及相同诉讼原因和同一当事人之间的先前判决不可调和。

在债务人提出任何上诉之前,你可以采取措施保护英格兰和威尔士的资产。

卢加诺公约

该公约管辖冰岛、瑞士和挪威之间的判决执行;以及所有2004年之前的欧盟国家及波兰。除波兰外,于2004年5月1日加入欧盟的欧盟国家尚未正式签署《卢加诺公约》。

它包含的规定、程序与《布鲁塞尔规则》大致相同。但是,英格兰或威尔士的执法法院可能会自行拒绝承认并因此在若干理由上执行判决,包括:

公共政策;

债务人是否有充足时间回应初始索赔;

无论相互冲突的判决顺序如何,该判决与英格兰和威尔士同一当事人之间的争议所作出的判决不可调和。

其他双边执法安排

该领域的主要法律是《司法行政法》和《外国判决(互惠执法)法》。这些主要包括前英联邦和现在的英联邦国家,包括马恩岛和泽西岛等皇家属地。

广义上,这些法案反映了互惠安排,简化了在英格兰和威尔士列出的国家所获得的判决的执行。在所列出的一个国家/地区获得的判决须首先在英格兰和威尔士的高等法院进行登记。对于特定金额而言,判决须是最终的,并非通过欺诈或违反管辖区或仲裁协议获得的罚款或税收。连同各种其他实际要求,法院必须确信原始法院有权处理初始索赔。将以以下几种方式满足条件,当债务人:

居住在该司法管辖区或其主要营业地点,或进行有关交易的营业地点;

同意服从该法院的管辖权或自愿出现在诉讼程序中。

否则不该登记判决。若已登记,若司法管辖权尔后被判决债务人质疑,则须将其搁置。

根据《司法行政法》进行登记的申请必须在判决之日起12个月内提出,但有可能延期。根据《外国判决(互惠执行)法》进行登记的申请必须在六年内提出,或者在自上诉程序最后判决之日起六年内提起上诉程序。

根据两项法案,债务人可根据各种理由申请撤销判决。

大陆法系

如果一个国家不属于上述任何一项,你将必须在英格兰与威尔士开启新的法律程序,执行外国判决。实际上,你将作为债务起诉判决。你可能必须在司法管辖区以外提出索赔,在这种情况下适用特定规则。

例如,除非涉嫌欺诈,否则不应该在法庭上重新审查案件案情,因此通常可获得简易判决。这是一种程序性安排,可在不需要审讯的情况下快速及早地临讯申索。这些申请通常是成功的,很大程度上是一种法律手段。

但是,在某些情况下,判决债务人可能对承认或执行原判决提出可信的质疑。例如,判决必须由英国法律认为有权这样做的法院作出。请注意,外国法院根据其自身法律拥有管辖权并不重要 ——重要的是,它根据《英国国际私法规则》具有管辖权。因此,债务人必须通过自愿出庭或通过合同在外国法院的管辖范围内出庭或提交其管辖权。

外国判决只有在明确金额时才能执行。英格兰和威尔士法院不会对税收或罚款执行判决,这意味着美国式的惩罚性赔偿将无法收回。

判决须是最终且确凿的,非暂时性的。一般推定外国判决是确凿的,但债务人可能会以各种理由寻求质疑,包括欺诈或在与自然或实质正义相悖的诉讼中获得。债务人必须能够证明这些理由。

Enforcing foreign judgments in England and Wales

Out-Law Guide | 05 Aug 2011 | 4:15 pm | 5 min. read

This guide was last updated in August 2011.

If you have obtained a judgment or court order outside England and Wales, you may wish to enforce it in England or Wales because your debtor has assets there or is located there. Methods of enforcing a judgment depend largely on the country or state of its origin and the nature of the judgment or order.

Countries can be split into one or more of four categories which, in descending order of ease and convenience, are:

  • countries to which the European Enforcement Order (EEO) Regulation applies;
  • countries which have signed the Brussels Regulation or the Lugano Convention;
  • countries with which the UK has bilateral enforcement conventions in place;
  • countries for which none of the above apply - notably the USA, Japan and China

EEO Regulation

This is the method of choice as it enables simple, quick enforcement within the EU. It can be used for money judgments obtained for uncontested claims. It should be used, when possible, in preference to other regimes which take longer and are more complicated.

It can be used if the debtor:

  • agreed to the debt, and this has been approved by the originating court in a consent order;
  • did not defend the claim at all, so there is a default judgment;
  • did not defend the claim in court when the claim was tried.

A real benefit is that the application is made to the originating court rather than in England and Wales by way of completion and provisions of straightforward paperwork, including the judgment concerned. Once the EEO certificate is issued the judgment is treated by courts in England and Wales as if it had been delivered by a court in England and Wales. The usual methods of enforcement can then be used, such as applying for a charging order or an attachment of earnings order.

The Brussels Regulation

The Regulation also applies to all EU countries and provides for relatively straightforward procedures for the mutual recognition and enforcement of EU judgments. Generally, you should only use this method within the EU if the EEO Regulation method is not possible – for example, because you have a judgment resulting from a contested hearing, or if you need to enforce a non-money judgment such as an injunction or order for specific performance.

The Regulation only applies to judgments or court orders in civil or commercial proceedings – not criminal, bankruptcy or insolvency proceedings, or proceedings involving the status or legal capacity of natural persons, rights in property arising out of a matrimonial relationship, wills and succession. It also does not apply to arbitration awards, including court orders which give judicial force to an arbitration award. For issues relating to the enforcement of arbitration awards generally, see the Out-Law guide to Best Practice in International Arbitration.

The application must be made in the enforcing state – that is, in England and Wales. You will need to file various documents including the judgment and a certified translation if it was not in English. The exact procedure is governed by the Civil procedure Riles.

As long as certain formalities are fulfilled, the enforcing court in England or Wales should declare the judgment enforceable and not re-examine the case. Like the EEO Regulation method, once the judgment is recognised you still have to go on and take the usual enforcement steps.

There are grounds of appeal. An appeal might be successful if, for example:

  • the judgment goes against public policy in England and Wales;
  • the judgment is irreconcilable with an earlier judgment given in any other member state involving the same causes of action and between the same parties.

Pending any appeal by the debtor you can, however, take measures to preserve assets in England and Wales.

The Lugano Convention

This governs the enforcement of judgments as between Iceland, Switzerland and Norway; and all pre-2004 EU states plus Poland. Except for Poland, the EU states that joined the EU on 1 May 2004 have not ratified the Lugano Convention.

It contains broadly the same provisions and the procedure is broadly the same as under the Brussels Regulation. However, the enforcing court in England or Wales may of its own volition refuse to recognise and thus enforce a judgment on a number of grounds including:

  • public policy;
  • whether the debtor had sufficient time to respond to the original claim;
  • the judgment is irreconcilable with a judgment given in a dispute between the same parties in England and Wales, regardless of the order in which the conflicting judgments were given.

Other bilateral enforcement arrangements

The main laws in this area are the Administration of Justice Act and the Foreign Judgments (Reciprocal Enforcement) Act. These mainly cover former and current Commonwealth countries, and include Crown states such as the Isle of Man and Jersey.

Broadly speaking, these Acts reflect reciprocal arrangements which streamline the enforcement of judgments obtained in the listed countries in England and Wales. A judgment obtained in one of the countries listed must first be registered in the High Court in England and Wales. It must be final, for a specific sum, not in respect of fines or taxes, not obtained by fraud or in breach of a jurisdiction or arbitration agreement. Together with various other practical requirements, the court must be satisfied that the originating court had jurisdiction to deal with the original claim. This will be satisfied in a number of ways, including if the debtor:

  • was resident in that jurisdiction or had its principal place of business, or the place of business through which the relevant transaction was conducted, there;
  • agreed to submit to that court's jurisdiction or voluntarily appeared in the proceedings.

Otherwise, the judgment should not be registered. If it has already been registered, it must be set aside if jurisdiction is later challenged by the judgment debtor.

An application to register under the Administration of Justice Act must be made within 12 months of the date of the judgment, but an extension is possible. An application to register under the Foreign Judgments (Reciprocal Enforcement) Act must be made within six years, or where there have been appeal proceedings six years from the date of the last judgment given in those proceedings.

The debtor can apply to set the judgment aside on various grounds under both Acts.

The common law

If a country does not fall under any of the above schemes, you will have to start fresh legal proceedings in England and Wales to enforce a foreign judgment. In effect, you will be suing on the judgment as a debt. You may have to serve the claim outside the jurisdiction, in which case specific rules apply.

Unless, for example, a fraud is alleged there should be no need to re-examine the merits of the case at court so it will often be possible to obtain summary judgment. This is a procedural device allowing the speedy and early hearing of a claim without the need for a trial. Such applications are normally successful and are largely a formality.

However, in some situations the judgment debtor may have a credible challenge to the recognition or enforcement of the original judgment. For example, the judgment must have been given by a court regarded under English law as competent to do so. Note that it does not matter that the foreign court had jurisdiction according to its own law - what matters is that it had jurisdiction according to the rules of English private international law. The debtor must therefore have either been present within the jurisdiction of the foreign court or submitted to its jurisdiction, by voluntary appearance or by contract.

A foreign judgment can only be enforced if it is for a definite sum of money. The England and Wales court will not enforce judgments for taxes or penalties, such as fines - this means that USA-style punitive damages will not be recoverable.

Judgement must be final and conclusive, not provisional. There is a general presumption that a foreign judgment is conclusive but a debtor may seek to challenge it on various grounds, including that it was obtained by fraud or in proceedings which were contrary to natural or substantial justice. The debtor will have to be able to prove these grounds.