如何在中国成功建立合资企业

Out-Law指南 | 16 Apr 2019 | 2:49 pm |

本指南最近更新时间为2013年2月。

在中国建立的合资企业,就像在其他国家一样,出了名地难以管理。由于合资企业的控制权必须同往往存在商业竞争关系的对手分享,出现利益冲突的情况在所难免。

不过,中国严格的商业法律意味着,尽管存在重重风险,合资协议是必须要进行的工作。在某些敏感的经济领域,中国并不允许建立外商独资企业(WFOE)。这些领域的外国企业要么选择投资建立合资企业,要么选择退出中国市场。

并非所有合资企业都是被迫建立的。有时,外国投资者建立合资企业是出于经济或战略原因:试图分担风险、成本和资源,或者由于某个颇具影响力的中国合作伙伴坚持这么做。尤其是在并购项目中,中国卖家往往不愿意出售其在并购对象的全部股权。由于中国卖家不太方便根据出售条款持有外国收购方的股权,部分收购正变得越来越常见。

鉴于合资企业仍有长期存在的必要,积极主动地管理合资企业的风险和短板因此显得十分重要。本指南旨在帮助外国企业成功管理在中国建立的合资企业。

产生替代选择

由于存在许多风险,只有在真正必要的情况下,才建立合资企业。潜在投资者应当在早期规划阶段主动探索任何合理的替代选择,例如建立外商独资企业。在受到严格限制的行业,这可能意味着在国内委托生产或者在相关的非限制性行业建立外商独资企业以管理生产工作。在收购项目中,这或许意味着考虑通过其他方式向目标股东付款。

不过,外汇汇率、会计和税务规则不可避免地会给标准投资和交易规范之外的任何其他方式产生问题。间接、怪异或毫无必要的复杂结构应当小心应对。

关注长期竞争

合资企业的合作伙伴往往是潜在竞争对手。很多时候,外国投资者发现整个产品市场被之前的合资伙伴所抢占。对于外国企业而言,在中国建立合资企业面临的最大长期风险就在于有可能培养或壮大竞争对手。因此,有必要就该风险全面评估整个合资协议。

了解合作伙伴的动机

除非出于合资公司的运营目的中国合作伙伴必须积极参与,否则,沉默的合作伙伴才是最好的合作伙伴。不幸的是,这种情况非常罕见。中国合作伙伴建立合资企业的原因很少是为了获取利润,他们的动机通常也是出于战略原因。除了利润,中国合作伙伴希望获得技术、知识以及最终的新产品或新工艺。这种情况下,他们的合资动机竞争性与合作性并存。如果中国合作伙伴在合资企业之外会继续生产相关产品,或者是作为某家国有集团公司的成员,这种竞争风险就会更大。

此外,须彻底调查潜在合资伙伴在声誉、贿赂以及反腐败政策方面的历史记录,包括任何违反法规的记录。

定义产品和市场

谨慎而明确地定义合资企业的产品和市场,这一点非常重要。这有助于双方确定合资双方任何重叠的产品和市场,并且明确说明各方有义务避免同合资公司开展竞争。

此外,请求中国合作伙伴作出非竞争性承诺也是合理的做法,以防止其在合资协议到期后继续生产合资企业的产品。

校准技术转让

某种类型技术转让几乎是中国新建合资企业的某种普遍要求。当然,这是外国投资者产品最不受保护的时候。因此,应当仅可能使用所有可选的合约性和实际性保护措施。一种实用的办法就是将技术区分出去,这样产品的核心技术就能受到保护。如有可能,重要的核心技术应当嵌入到其他地点生产的组件或材料之中,作为原材料由外方向合资公司出售或供应。

就合同而言,你应保留对于技术改进的所有权,而技术转让合同应与合资协议同时结束。此外,应建立详细的保管和复制追踪措施并予以严格监管。应明确禁止合资企业未经批准向中国合作伙伴披露相关技术,包括分包商、咨询顾问以及设计机构。

所有相关员工应遵守保密协议以及非竞争性协议。

关注知识产权

大多数首次进入中国的外国投资者通常在投资之前尚未注册商标。很多时候,他们倾向于在投资计划或谈判已经开始之后,才着手做这件事情。由于中国是一个严格遵守先到先得原则的国家,商标注册必须抢在其他人之前,才能享受独家使用权。因此,商标“抢注”在中国十分常见,注册了外国商标的国内机构随后会将商标使用权高价出售给原本的使用者。公司名称和品牌名称应当以中文和英语在所有相关的行业类别中进行注册,越早越好,即便此等产品尚未进入中国市场。

管理管理层

在需要分享企业控制权的前提下,管理层结构以及职能结构可能成为合资双方争夺与合作的焦点。董事和高管职位必须在各合资方之间分配,这些职位的职能和决定规则必须明确界定以确保权力的平衡。如果合资一方占有绝对多数股权,其在董事会中通常将拥有绝对控制权,而对于更加重要的问题需要遵守少数派保护规则,例如否决权。

如果需要聘用外方管理人员,应当对于可能产生的成本予以全面考量,而且符合要求的经理人通常不愿意在中国最为发达的中心城市以外的地区工作。为了保留实际控制权,为合资公司指定总经理以及法人代表至关重要。

遵守流程

合资企业是非常复杂的实体,合资谈判则非常耗费时间和资源。如果合资双方不能真正投入管理资源,这一流程很可能无法完成。理想情况下,交易的重要结构和商业元素应在谈判流程的初始阶段以谅解备忘录的形式达成一致。双方应建立专属的工作小组,高管应时刻关注谈判进度,并在需要对问题进行决断时及时出现。

通常需要耗费数月时间、经过多轮谈判和草案才能达成协议,这还是在双方积极参与合资谈判流程的情况下。尽管如此,你应做好退出谈判的准备,以便在发现自己无法从合资协议中获取所需时及时抽身。

坚守底线,随机应变

始终建议以双语标准合同规程开始谈判。这会确保所有标准结构和运营问题得到全面的处理,并为任何可能需要的改变提供坚实的框架基础。相比西方的标准合资协议,中国合作伙伴通常倾向于更为简单和概要的合同形式。不过,中国合作伙伴素来对风险高度敏感,在商谈详细长期合同的一些重要内容时,会采取十分激进的态度。

做好退出准备

除了极少数情况,任何一方都很难单方面终止合资协议,除非根据协议规定。因此合资协议的各方应当就某些可能触发合资协议提前终止的事项达成一致。因为谈判陷入僵局而终止,显然就是其中一种情况。终止触发的条款还包括:如果合资公司未能满足特定的销售或市场份额阈值,或者获得特定的质量认证。

外资方应当确保协议中设置有关技术转让和合资协议中的交叉终止条款,以便确保终止其中一项协议即代表另一项协议同时终止。转让权利和限制同样非常关键。

 

在受限制的行业,因为出于法律原因必须建立合资公司的外国投资者应当在协议中明确表示,一旦政策允许其持有绝对多数股权或建立外商独资企业,即有权买断中方持有的股份。

Successful joint ventures in China

Out-Law Guide | 22 Dec 2011 | 9:12 am | 5 min. read

This guide was last updated in February 2013.

Joint ventures in China – as elsewhere - are notoriously difficult to manage successfully. With control shared between often commercially competitive shareholders, the opportunities for conflict are rife.

However, China's strict commercial laws mean that joint ventures often have to be entered into despite the risks. In certain sensitive economic sectors, wholly foreign-owned enterprises (WFOEs) are not permitted. Foreign companies operating in these sectors have to choose between investing through a joint venture and not investing at all.

Not all joint ventures are compulsory. Sometimes foreign investors enter into joint ventures for economic or strategic reasons: in order to share risks, costs and resources, or because a particularly influential Chinese partner insists on it. In the acquisition context in particular, Chinese sellers are often unwilling to sell 100% of their equity in the target. Since Chinese sellers can't yet easily take equity in foreign acquirers as a condition of the sale, partial acquisitions are increasingly common.

Given the ongoing use of joint ventures, it is important actively to manage their risks and shortcomings. This guide gives some suggestions to successfully manage joint ventures in China.

Generate alternatives

Because there are so many risks, joint ventures should only be entered into if truly necessary. Potential investors should actively explore any reasonable alternatives, such as creating a WFOE, early in the planning stage. In restricted sectors this might mean licensed manufacture onshore or establishing a WFOE in a related unrestricted sector to manage production. In the acquisition context, it could mean considering alternative ways of paying the target shareholders in shares.

However foreign exchange, accounting and tax rules inevitably create problems for anything other than the most standard investment and transaction practices. Indirect, exotic or unnecessarily complex structures should be approached with caution.

Focus on long-term competition

Joint venture partners are often potential competitors. It often happens that foreign investors lose whole product markets to previous joint venture partners. Perhaps the greatest general long-term risk for foreigners in Chinese joint ventures is the risk of establishing or enabling a competitor. It is therefore important to evaluate all aspects of the agreement in this light.

Know your partner's motives

Unless the Chinese partner's active participation is necessary for operational reasons, the best partner is a sleeping partner. Unfortunately, this is all too rare. Chinese partners' reasons for entering into joint ventures rarely begin or end with a profit motive – their motives are usually also strategic. In addition to profits Chinese partners gain technology, know-how and, ultimately, new products or processes. In this sense, their motives are often at least as much competitive as they are collaborative. If the Chinese partner will continue producing related products alongside the joint venture, or is the member of a state-owned group company, the competitive risks are even bigger.

It is also essential to investigate your potential partner's records thoroughly in regards to reputation, bribery and anti-corruption policies and any track record of regulatory non-compliance.

Define products and markets

It is critical to carefully and clearly define the joint venture's products and markets. This will help both parties to identify any overlap with each other's products and markets, and to specify any obligations of the parties not to compete with the joint venture.

It is also often appropriate to demand non-compete commitments from the Chinese partner, preventing it from producing the joint venture products after the agreement has ended.

Calibrate technology transfer

Technology transfer of some type is an almost universal element of greenfield joint ventures in China. Of course, this is the point where a foreign investor's products are most exposed. All available contractual and practical safeguards should therefore be used. As a practical matter technology should be segmented and distinguished so that the complete core technology is not exposed. If possible the critical core technology should be embodied in components or materials produced elsewhere which are sold or supplied to the joint venture by the foreign party.

As a matter of contract, you should retain ownership over improvements and the technology transfer contract should end at the same time as the joint venture agreement. Detailed custodial and copy-tracking measures should be created and monitored. The joint venture should be expressly prevented from disclosing the technology to the Chinese partner - or to subcontractors, consultants and design institutes - without approval.

All relevant employees should be subject to confidentiality and non-compete agreements.

Focus on IP

Most first-time foreign investors in China have not already registered their trademarks there before they invest. At best, they tend to do this once investment planning or negotiations begin in earnest. Since China is a strict first-to-file jurisdiction, a trademark must be registered before anyone else can do so in order to enjoy exclusive use rights of the mark. Trademark 'squatting' is quite common, with domestic parties registering foreign marks then offering to sell them to the original users. Both company and product brand names should be registered in all relevant industry classes, in Chinese and English, at the earliest opportunity - even in advance of market entry.

Manage management

To the extent that control over the business is shared, management structures and functions can be the focus of both contention and cooperation between joint venture partners. Both board and executive positions have to be allocated between the partners and their functions and decision rules will have to be carefully specified to establish the balance of power. If either partner has a substantial majority of equity, it will usually have clear board management control and the more important negotiating issues will revolve around minority protections such as veto rights.

If foreign managers are needed, due consideration should be given to the costs involved and to the fact that qualified western managers are often unwilling to work outside of China's most developed urban centres. To maintain actual management control it is critical to appoint the general manager and company legal representative.

Commit to the process

Joint ventures are complex entities and the negotiation of them is a time and resource-intensive process. This process cannot be completed without a real commitment of management resources by the parties. Ideally the important structural and commercial elements of the deal should be agreed in a memorandum of understanding early in the process. Dedicated working groups should be established by both parties, and senior management should be kept aware of progress and available as required to decide on issues as they arise.

Several months and numerous rounds of negotiations and drafting are often required to reach agreement, particularly where both parties are actively engaged in the process. Even so, you should be prepared to walk away if it becomes clear that you cannot get what you need out of the arrangement.

Negotiate rigorously but flexibly

It is always advisable to begin negotiations based on dual language standard contract precedents. This will ensure the comprehensive treatment of all the standard structural and operational issues, and also provide a solid framework for any necessary variations. Chinese parties often prefer much simpler and briefer forms than is common in standard western practice. Nevertheless, Chinese parties tend to have a keen instinct for risk and will aggressively negotiate material aspects of detailed long-form contracts.

Prepare for exit

Other than on very limited grounds joint ventures cannot be terminated unilaterally by either party - only by agreement. The parties should therefore agree the range of grounds that might trigger termination in advance. Termination because of a deadlock is an obvious example. Termination could also be triggered if the joint venture fails to meet certain sales or market share thresholds, or to obtain certain quality certifications.

Foreign partners should ensure that there are cross-termination provisions in the technology transfer and the joint venture contract, so that termination of one is grounds for termination of the other. Transfer rights and restrictions are also critical.

Foreign investors in restricted sectors, who are entering into a joint venture only because they must do so for legal reasons, should also expressly include the right to buy out the domestic party once foreign majority shareholding or WFOEs are permitted in that sector by policy.