太阳能板

借助区块链引领公用事业变革

有人说商场瞬息万变,但从变革的突然性和广泛性来讲,很少有能与2011年影响德国能源行业发生巨变相提并论的案例。

在日本福岛核电站事故发生后,德国政府宣布在2022年前关闭德国境内所有的核电站,这给伍珀塔尔公用事业公司(Wuppertaler Stadtwerke,简称WSW)这样的传统能源公用事业公司带来了严重的问题。

WSW亟需找到新的商业模式,而品诚梅森助其把握住了两个新兴趋势,创建了新的客户价值主张。

 

挑战

WSW必须设法进入能源行业发展最为迅速的细分市场,且必须迅速开展业务。

他们想要抓住客户对完全绿色能源、放心能源来源日渐增长的需求。

品诚梅森帮助WSW构思并开发了一套基于区块链的能源购买系统,为用户提供了独一无二的透明度,从而充分掌控能源的来源。这套系统名为Tal.Markt。

该项目涉及法律、法规及技术三大挑战。作为一家公用事业机构,WSW受到公共法、竞争法以及能源法规等多重约束。

WSW亟需找到新的商业模式,而品诚梅森助其把握住了两个新兴趋势,创建了新的客户价值主张。

解决方案

我们的创新解决方案是全球首例基于区块链的绿色能源交易平台。 

该系统让用户可以从一系列家用能源供应商购买能源。区块链技术确保能源单位无法二次买卖,透明地让顾客了解能源的确切来源。此外,顾客通过该系统可以选择他们支持的特定类型可再生能源,真正让客户放心。

系统采用一项先进的创新技术,即智慧合同,以便在顾客所选能源不可用时提供备用能源。有了该技术,WSW可以保证不间断地为顾客输送能源。智慧合同不仅能像传统能源合同那样对协议中的规则进行定义解释,还能够自动执行。这意味着在所选能源来源不可用时,可以做到能源选择和能源不间断两不误。 

结果

WSW的负责人Andreas Feicht表示,Tal.Markt具备“引领能源零售革命的潜质”。据德国报纸Handelsblatt报道,该平台有望成为“欧洲个性化可再生能源交易平台中的领头羊”。

根据客户的评价,该项目之所以能成功是因为:

• 开发了一个全新的模式;

• 向德国市场展现了WSW对创新的理解以及将其付诸实践的努力;

• 抢占了市场先机。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

solar panels 1440
1 min. read

Transforming utilities through the power of blockchain

Business moves fast, but few changes are as sudden or wide-ranging as that which affected the German energy sector in 2011.

In the aftermath of Japan's Fukushima nuclear power plant disaster the German government announced that all nuclear power plants in Germany would close by 2022, posing serious issues for traditional energy utilities such as Wuppertaler Stadtwerke (WSW).

WSW had to find a new way to do business, and Pinsent Masons helped it harness two emerging trends to create a new customer proposition.

The challenge

WSW had to find a way to tap into those parts of the energy market which were growing, and it had to move fast.

It wanted to capitalise on customers' growing desire for using only green energy, and certainty of its source.

Pinsent Masons helped WSW conceive and develop a blockchain-based system for the purchase of the energy, providing users with unparalleled transparency and control of the source of their energy. It was called Tal.Markt.

This was a major legal, regulatory and technical challenge. As a public sector utility, WSW was subject to complex public and competition laws as well as energy regulations.

WSW had to find a new way to do business, and Pinsent Masons helped it harness two emerging trends to create a new customer proposition.

The solution

The innovative solution was the world's first blockchain-based trading platform for green energy. 

The system allows customers to buy units of energy from a range of domestic suppliers. Blockchain technology ensures that the units cannot be bought or sold twice, giving transparency and certainty to users that energy has definitely come from a particular source. It also affords energy-conscious consumers the reassurance that they can select specific types of renewable energies they wish to support.

The system used a further innovation, smart contracts, to provide back-up power when the chosen source of power was not available. This allowed WSW to provide customers with uninterrupted supply. The smart contracts not only defined the rules around an agreement in the same way that a traditional contract does, but also automatically executed it. This meant that a customer could enjoy both choice of energy source and security of supply if that source was not available.  

 

The result

WSW’s head Andreas Feicht said that Tal.Markt had the "potential to revolutionise power retailing". German newspaper Handelsblatt reported that the platform could become "a leading marketplace for personalised renewable energy in Europe".

The project was a success on the client's own terms because it:

  • devised an entirely new model;
  • demonstrated to the German market that WSW knew the meaning of innovation and how to put this into practice;
  • stole a march on competitors.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know