太阳能板

电池存储技术项目融资蓝本

随着世界各国想方设法克服能源枯竭的威胁,可再生能源在确保能源安全方面的作用愈发重要。但此类能源的间歇性特点仍然是个问题。可升级的电池存储方案听起来非常完美,但该技术尚处于早期阶段。这方面的研发工作要想获得资金并不容易。

通过为Arenko Cleantech以及麦格理(Macquarie)银行牵线搭桥,品诚梅森帮助双方达成了一份协议,而这或许能够为其他同类交易提供蓝本,以推动该领域的创新。

挑战

电池存储技术市场领导者Arenko Cleantech同Macquarie银行达成了一项125兆瓦英国电池能源存储项目的合资协议。鉴于这是英国规模最大的多点能源存储开发项目,Macquarie银行为其提供首批1.25亿英镑的资金。

Arenko Cleantech将这个堪称智能能源核心元素的项目推向市场。该项目能令大型工业客户在价格最高的用电高峰期将电源从电网切换到电池供电。它还能在电力短缺的情况下,提高用电的灵活性。

基于可再生能源的电池技术能够在生产现场直接为工业客户供电。这种技术整合了实时能源分析功能,进而帮助管理能源消耗并改变用电习惯。

品诚梅森受该公司委托,寻找一种可令现有法律适用这一能源行业全新领域的方式。为此,我们必须建立一种投资结构以消除投资者对于支持研发新技术的后顾之忧,同时建立一种架构以便引入Macquarie银行参与投资。这需要建立一种全新的解决方案,以整合多个法律领域,包括监管、工程、公司、商业以及数据。

智能能源行业的融资与创新

解决方案

此前,从未有人尝试在英国解决电池存储技术这一全新领域的复杂法律问题。我们意识到这不仅需要熟知各种法律条文,还须深入了解电池存储技术。因此,我们与Arenko Cleantech密切合作,为这种前所未有的技术打造出精密复杂的法规框架。

举例来说,国家电网的苛刻性能标准意味着必须保证这种性能与新的技术类型协调一致。

此外,由于电池的技术规格会因为电池的使用方式有所变化,我们必须建立一份清晰的描述,说明对比额定的性能要求,运营商需要承受多大风险。我们因此在合同结构中建立了相关的风险调节机制以应对该问题。

最后,对于国家电网与投资者在内的主要利益相关者,必须确保其能够获取并理解所有这些内容。品诚梅森与Arenko Cleantech的团队协助建立了框架并同利益相关方举行了一系列研讨会,以解释英国有关电力输配的电力法规的重要性和复杂性。

结果

在时间极为紧张的情况下,通过坚持不懈和努力工作,我们仅用了四周半时间就建立起一家极为复杂的合资公司。

Arenko的开发工作目前已经获得长足发展,将为提高英国的能源安全发挥重要作用。

我们的工作已经开始为英国及其他国家的电池存储项目塑造市场。许多项目打算照此效法,将我们建立的法律框架和投资模式作为蓝本。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

solar energy store 1440
2 min. read

A blueprint for funding battery-storage technology projects

As countries around the world grapple with the threat of energy supply crunches, renewable energy plays an increasingly critical part in keeping the lights on. However, its intermittent nature remains a problem. Scalable battery storage is the holy grail, but the technology is in its early stages. Securing funding for research and development is not easy. Working with Arenko Cleantech Ltd. and Macquarie bank, Pinsent Masons has helped to structure a deal which may yet provide a blueprint for other deals that drive innovation in this space.

The challenge

Storage technology market-leaders Arenko Cleantech had a landmark 125 megawatt UK battery energy storage joint venture with Macquarie Bank. It was heralded as the UK's largest multi-site energy storage development and Macquarie provided up to an initial £125 million of funding.

Arenko Cleantech brought a project to market that is the essence of smart energy. It effectively enables large industrial customers to switch power supplies from grid to battery at periods of peak demand and price. It also provides greater resilience in the event of power shortages.

Battery technology, with power from renewables, was located on-site for industrial customers. It incorporates real-time energy data analytics, to help regulate energy usage and influence consumption habits.

Pinsent Masons was tasked with finding a way to apply existing law to a whole new area within the energy sector. We would have to develop an investment structure that gave funders an appropriate level of comfort in backing new technology, while creating a structure that Macquarie could invest in. This required novel solutions across numerous fields of law including regulatory, construction, corporate, commercial and data.

Pinsent Masons was tasked with finding a way to apply existing law to a whole new area within the energy sector.

The solution

Addressing the complex legalities in this unprecedented area of storage technology had never been attempted in the UK. We recognised it needed a detailed understanding of the technology itself in addition to the law. We worked closely with Arrenko Cleantch to achieve this, then applied a complex legislative framework to this unprecedented technology.

For instance, National Grid’s stringent performance standards meant that performance warranties needed to be aligned to a new technology type.

Further, because the technical specification of the battery changed depending on how the battery is used, a clear delineation for determining what risks would be constituted as operator risks versus performance default was necessary. We created novel risk adjustment mechanisms in the contract structures to deal with this.

Finally, all of this had to be made intelligible and accessible to key stakeholders - including investors and National Grid. The Pinsent Masons and Arenko Cleantech teams helped to frame and deliver a series of workshops with stakeholders to explain the importance and complexity of UK electricity regulation governing transmission and distribution arrangements.

The result

Working to an incredibly tight timescale, through perseverance and hard work, we created a joint venture of unrivalled complexity in just four and a half weeks.

Arenko's development is now well underway and will be instrumental in achieveing greater energy security in the UK.

Our work has begun to shape the marketplace for battery storage initiatives in the UK and beyond. Many look set to follow suit in adapting our legal blueprint and investment model.

We have since been asked to advise the UK government's Department for Community and Local Government and HM Treasury on deployment of energy storage.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know