彼时,美国连锁院线AMC Theatres希望向私募股权公司Terra Film收购欧洲院线Odeon和UCI,这成为那一年欧洲最大的并购交易之一。唯一的挑战?这笔交易的时间适逢英国历史上政治动向最为不稳定的时期:英国脱欧公投。

挑战

英国脱欧公投的结果给整个交易市场带来了巨大冲击。

市场早已陷入动荡之中。英国脱欧之前的不确定因素,令英国并购交易市场的全球份额降到了1980年以来的最低点。多家私募股权机构已经决定,如果脱欧成为定局,那么将暂停所有并购活动。面对这种充满不确定性的环境,AMC希望委托一家律师事务所继续推进交易。这需要接受委托的合作伙伴:

  • 提供卓越的战略与运营;
  • 提供一系列法律服务,涉及不同地理区域以及利益相关方。

这实际上并不容易。工作量大、涉及方多,政治局势不明朗,以及时间表紧迫,这些都要求我们必须采取新的方式。

Kevin Connor

高级副总裁,首席法律顾问兼公司秘书,AMC Entertainment控股公司

品诚梅森与众多深受信赖的外部律所合作,业务范围覆盖多个司法辖区,提供卓越的法律咨询服务。他们运用处理大型资本交易的丰富经验来预测潜在挑战;他们还会为交易配备合适的人员并进行高效的内部沟通。他们技术卓越、值得信赖,合作起来非常令人愉快。

解决方案

品诚梅森是这项交易的首席法律顾问和协调人,因而成为协调七个司法辖区所有法律工作的核心机构,代表客户管理法律事项的交付。

为了无缝落实该交易,品诚梅森首创了一种全新的项目管理方式,结合最新技术以及经验证的案例,来最大程度地提高效率。

传统做法是将项目管理工作外包给第三方公司财务团队。我们则通过与客户开展深入讨论和方法测试,自主开发、编码并优化的项目管理方式。

在本实例中,这意味着我们能够有效且高效地管理分布在英国、德国、西班牙、葡萄牙、意大利、奥地利以及爱尔兰的大量信息。透明度、成本控制以及效率均融入其中。

结果

我们通过前沿的项目管理整合法律卓越专长的方法,帮助客户实现了英国脱欧公投之后第一笔超过10亿美元的交易,总价值高达9.21亿英镑(约合12亿美元)。

这笔交易对AMC具重要战略价值,令其成为世界上最大的电影院线。

判断合作是否成功的最佳方式或许是观察一次交易能够变为一种关系。品诚梅森后来又为AMC斥资9.29亿美元收购Nordic Cinema担任顾问,这充分说明了初次交易取得的成功。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

movie reel 1440
1 min. read

Building a blockbuster business

When US cinema chain AMC Theatres wanted to purchase European cinema chain Odeon and UCI from private equity firm Terra Firma it heralded one of the biggest European transactions of the year. The only challenge? The deal coincided almost entirely with one of the most unsettled political periods in UK history: the Brexit referendum.

A truly cross-border approach to dealmaking

spanning Europe, the USA and China

A US$1.2bn transaction

Creating one of the world's largest cinema operators

A best-in-class approach to project management

Driving significant client satisfaction

The challenge

The outcome of the EU referendum sent shockwaves through the dealmaker community.

The market was already in turmoil. Pre-Brexit jitters meant the UK's M&A activity for the year was at its lowest share of global activity since 1980. Several private equity houses had already taken the decision to suspend all activity in the event of a leave vote. Amid an uncertain climate, AMC wanted a law firm it could trust to move the deal forward. It required a trusted partner to:

  • Provide strategic and operational excellence;
  • Deliver a range of legal services across a number of geographies, with multiple stakeholders.

It was no small feat. The volume of work, number of parties, shifting political picture and challenging timescales involved required a new approach.

Kevin Connor

SVP, GeneralCounsel & Secretary at AMC Entertainment Holdings Inc

Pinsent Masons worked closely with and co-ordinated a network of trusted external firms to cover the other jurisdictions, delivering an excellent service. They used their experience of large cap deals to anticipate challenges; they staffed the transactions appropriately, and communicated efficiently internally and across the network. They were technically excellent, trustworthy and a pleasure to work with.

The solution

Pinsent Masons was the lead legal adviser and facilitator of the deal, acting as the central nerve centre for coordinating all legal activity across seven jurisdiction and removing the onus on the client to oversee legal delivery.

In order to execute the transaction seamlessly Pinsent Masons pioneered new methods of project management methodology. It combined the latest technology with tried and tested precedents to achieve maximum efficiency.

A typical approach would have been to outsource the project management function to a third party corporate finance team. Instead we deployed our own project management approach which has been developed, codified and refined after significant client consultation and road-testing.

In this instance, it meant we were capable of effectively and efficiently managing large volumes of information across the UK, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Austria and Ireland. Transparency, cost control, and efficiency were all ingrained into the process.

The result

Our approach to allying legal excellence with cutting edge project management helped secure the first billion dollar sale of a UK company following the referendum, totalling £921 million ($1.2 billion).

The deal was of core strategic importance to AMC, heralding its emergence as the largest cinema operator in the world.

Perhaps the strongest barometer of success is when a transaction turns into a relationship. That Pinsent Masons has subsequently advised AMC on the US$929m acquisition of Nordic Cinema Group is a strong indication of the success of the initial transaction.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know