交通运输隧道

利用技术管理基建资产

大型基建项目通常拥有数年生命周期,而在此期间很多因素可能发生改变,包括利益相关方参与项目管理、商业市场动态、法律因素及其他情况。这可能导致项目管理效率低下、效果欠佳。不过,通过与众多承包商合作,并巧妙运用最新技术,品诚梅森开发出一种新的方案。我们正在改变基建项目在全球的交付方式,从采购到竣工交付。

挑战

从采购新的基建项目到最终交付,很多因素可能会发生变化。我们经常发现这会引起项目管理方式出现变化,导致成本增加,有时甚至导致项目失败。客户因此要求我们:借助我们在全球范围内交付大型项目方面的丰富经验,将法律和商业方面的洞察同技术结合起来,创造一种标准化的资产管理方案。

真正的创新元素在于将法律和商业洞察用于技术

解决方案

品诚梅森依靠独家数字平台开发了Procurement to Completion®咨询服务。这一独特的工作方式可以帮助用户:

  • 改善现金流
  • 降低争议程度
  • 改善项目各方之间的关系
  • 降低项目失败的风险
  • 降低时间和费用超支的责任风险

这种解决方案的关键在于针对某一特定资产的所有相关信息建立历史档案,同时提供相关资源的访问权限,以便在基建项目开发的整个生命周期内积极有效地进行项目管理。通过使用在线协作空间,我们能够:

  1. 确保项目团队能够全天候获取正确的预算和法律文档,同时提供可审计的风险和问题登记簿,以及关键任务。
  2. 开发整合项目所有必要信息的完整资源库(即联系人文档、关键信息往来、组织计划等)
  3. 实时、适当地提供有关项目风险与机会管理的关键宣传信息和指南
  4. 支持进行持续监测并向相关法律团队和总部办公室提供关键领域的报告
  5. 为挑战提供解决方案(通过在线问答、存档的建议说明、客户报告以及项目帮助热线的详情)

结果

客户通过在卡塔尔、澳大利亚、印度、南非以及英国的项目中采用P2C受益颇丰。

客户告诉我们一些重要的益处似乎“并不明显”,但具有重要的财务价值。举例来说,通过更好的培训和及早获取法律建议,可以避免产生争议。易于找到所需的关键文档和信息可以节省大量时间成本。更好地处理付款通知,以改善利润表现。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

Transport tunnel
2 min. read

Managing infrastructure assets through tech

Major infrastructure projects often have a lifecycle spanning several years, during which numerous factors will change. These include the stakeholders involved in managing the project, commercial dynamics, legal and other conditions. This can lead to inefficient and ineffective management of projects. However, through collaboration with a number of contractors and smart use of technology Pinsent Masons has developed a new approach. We are changing how infrastructure projects are delivered around the globe, from procurement to completion.

The challenge

Between the procurement of a new infrastructure project and its delivery a lot can change. Time and again we see this lead to a reactive approach to managing projects. This leads to cost increases and sometimes even project failure. Our clients set us a challenge: to graft the legal and commercial insight we have developed through experience of major project delivery around the world onto a technology that would standardise a particular approach to asset management.

The truly innovative element has been the grafting of legal and commercial insight onto the technology

The solution

Pinsent Masons has developed the Procurement to Completion® advisory service, underpinned by a proprietary digital platform. This unique way of working helps users:

  • Improve cash flow
  • Reduce the level of disputes
  • Secure better relations between project parties
  • Reduce the risk of project failure
  • Reduce the risk of liability for time and cost overruns

The solution is about building a historical archive of all of the information relevant to a particular asset, while simultaneously providing access to resources that will support the proactive and efficient management of the development throughout its lifecycle. Through use of the online collaborative workspace we are able to:

  1. Ensure the right budgetary and legal documentation is available to the project team 24/7, alongside an auditable register of risks and issues, and critical tasks.
  2. Develop a comprehensive repository of all information essential to the project, (ie. contract documents, key correspondence, organograms, etc.)
  3. Provide key educational information and guidance on how risks and opportunities on the project should be managed, in real time and at the point at which the support is appropriate
  4. Support ongoing monitoring and reporting of key aspects of relevance to legal teams and Head Office
  5. Deliver solutions to challenges(through online Q&A, archived advice notes, client reports, and details of the project helpline number).

The result

Clients are now enjoying the benefits of using P2C in projects under development in Qatar, Australia, India, South Africa and the UK.

Our clients tell us that some of the most important benefits seem 'invisible' but carry significant financial value. For instance, disputes are being avoided through better training and early access to legal advice. Time and costs are being saved when key documents and information are easily located. Better processes around payment notices are improving the bottom line.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know