伦敦建筑

重新构思交易交付

2008年开启的全球金融危机彻底改变了金融服务行业的版图 。 结构重组和去杠杆化成为当时的常态。大量的贷款类投资产品被出售给全球数一数二的股权和对冲基金以及投资银行。快速而有效地开展尽职调查对于收购方来说非常重要,但也需要不同的法律解决方案。

挑战

贷款资产的尽职调查通常非常耗费资源且费用不菲,但这是必不可少的程序。只有了解贷款账目之后,卖家才能对其市场价值进行评估。

买家通常需要遵守极为紧张的时间表,导致许多咨询机构的传统尽职调查方式难以满足他们的需求。

同样不再可行的方法就是为项目组建庞大的律师团队,那样只会收到冗长、前后矛盾的尽职调查报告,不仅缺乏对于风险的任何真正或实际分析,更不同说从中获取商业洞察了。

在同一家机会基金合作时,品诚梅森制定了一种尽职调查方式,可以在各方面为客户创造价值。

解决方案

首先,我们从根本上抛弃了尽职调查时采用传统的“人海战术”。

我们的方法是创新地将自动化和拆分化用到尽职调查领域,并根据客户的需求定制。一开始,我们同客户坐下来,了解他们真正担心的风险。这意味着花时间去了解资产背后的商业计划。

然后我们需要吸收这一洞察信息并设计一份在线调查问卷,通过云端门户完成。这样就能实现风险的一致评估,并且为客户标出具有重大隐患的危险事件。品诚梅森强大业务网络中的2500多位律师组成的强大团队随后会评估填写调查问卷所需的贷款文件。

这一流程需要在12月26日到1月9日期间审核3000多份文件,而那段时间恰逢圣诞新年假期。

如果无法获取结果,那么评估就毫无意义。这种规模的交易通常需要制作一份成百上千页的尽职调查报告,其中包含重要文件的摘要。

我们采取了完全不同的方式。品诚梅森提供了一系列以“重大风险”为主题的报告,不到20页。这些存在重大风险的危险领域采用深入浅出的方式来说明。这样,客户对其真正需要关注的风险,获得了准确而实用的数据。

此外,品诚梅森还与LPO(法务流程外包服务)提供商Exigent合作,开发了一种协调管理流程,确保贷款账目中所有相关资产的法律实体和受益实体获得正确转移。该流程涉及约20个司法辖区。

这是一次大型项目管理实践,仅有一周的时间进行项目处理,包括数以千计的文件。综合上述工作,收购流程以及后续的完成工作展现出最为先进而高效的项目管理方式。

结果

这一项目管理方式的影响无法低估。

首先,它的法务团队能够花:

  • 更少的时间完成尽职调查并思考伪造的法律风险
  • 更多时间关注交易价格的问题

其次,尽职调查期间收集的所有数据现在位于客户的外联网,这意味着资产管理公司、律师以及专业咨询顾问均可以访问此信息库以便优化投资管理。

第三,客户可以在远少于预期时间的情况下,获得所有这些重要信息。对于这种规模等级的交易来说,伦敦的五大“神奇圈”法律事务所无疑会开出与之相称的费用比率,而我们通过搭配组合自动化技术以及灵活地处理资源问题,可以节省客户的资金并提供更好的最终产品 。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

London buildings
8 min. read

Re-imagining deal delivery in the finance sector

The global financial crisis that began in 2008 changed the landscape of financial services forever.  Restructuring and deleveraging became the order of the day. Large portfolios of loans were sold to some of the world’s biggest equity and hedge funds, and investment banks. Conducting diligence quickly and effectively was vital for the bidders, and required a different type of legal solution.


The challenge

Due diligence of loan assets is typically resource-intensive and costly but it is essential. Only by understanding the loan book can bidders form an assessment on its market value.

Bidders often need to contend with extremely strict timetables, making the approach traditionally taken to diligence by many advisers inadequate. 

No longer is it enough to throw huge teams of lawyers at a project only to receive lengthy, inconsistently compiled due diligence lacking any real or useful analysis of risk, let alone commercial insight.

Working with one opportunity fund, Pinsent Masons developed a way to deliver diligence that would add value in every sense.

The solution

First, we fundamentally moved away from the traditional ‘throw bodies at it’ approach to due diligence.

Our approach incorporated elements of automation and disaggregation into the diligence process as never before, and tailored it to the needs of the client. At the outset we sat down with the client to find out what risks it truly cared about. This meant taking the time to understand the underlying business plan for the assets.

We were then able to take this insight and engineer an online questionnaire completed via a cloud-based portal. This would enable a consistent assessment of risk and would red-flag matters of material concern to the client. A team of lawyers around the firm’s 2,500-strong network then reviewed the loan documentation necessary to complete the questionnaire.

This process involved a review of over 3,000 documents between 26 December and 9 January, traditionally peak vacation season.
That assessment would be pointless if it was not accessible. A transaction of this scale usually involves producing a due diligence report that is hundreds or thousands of pages long, comprising extracts from the underlying documentation.

We took a different approach. Pinsent Masons delivered a series of thematic ‘Significant Risk’ reports that were less than 20 pages long. These red-flagged areas of material risk and were produced in a way that it could be easily digested. The client got concise and usable data about only the risks it truly cared about.

Further, Pinsent Masons worked with LPO (legal process outsourcer) provider Exigent to develop a coordinated management process. This ensured the legal and beneficial title from all the underlying assets in the loan book was properly transferred. The process covered some 20 legal jurisdictions.

This was a major project management exercise which culminated in a week-long closing process including thousands of documents. Taken together, the bid process and subsequent completion represented cutting-edge and supremely efficient project management.

 
Through a mixture of automation and a flexible approach to resourcing, we saved the client money and provided a better end product.

The result

The impact of this approach cannot be underestimated. First and foremost, its legal team was able to spend;

  • Less time wading through due diligence and considering spurious legal risk
  • More time focusing on issues that spoke to pricing in the transaction

Second, all the data collated during the due diligence process now sits on a client extranet. This means asset managers, lawyers and professional advisers have ongoing access to a bank of information for better investment management.

Third, the client got all this for significantly less than it might normally have expected. For transactions of this scale, Magic Circle firms are instructed typically with commensurate rates. Through a mixture of automation and a flexible approach to resourcing, we saved the client money and provided a better end product.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know