世界地图数据

在大诉讼中使用大数据

关键字广告仅在英国每年就价值30亿英镑,其中绝大部分用于谷歌(Google)的文字广告(AdWords)项目。对大多数企业而言,在线零售是非常重要的销售渠道。但是,到底是什么让在线商机变成一种商业威胁?这就是国际花商联(Interflora)面临的处境,当时一系列竞争对手选择使用Interflora的商标作为关键词来推广其送花服务。

挑战

在Google上输入一个搜索词,页面上就会立刻显示包括相关广告与“原始搜索”结果的相关列表。竞争对手向Google支付赞助商“关键字”,他们的广告随后就会出现在搜索页面顶部的“金色线框”之中。 

Google 一度更改其商标政策,以便公司可以在Google Adwords广告项目中“竞标”竞争对手的商标。

因此,Interflora的竞争对手可以使用 Interflora 的商标作为AdWord,以宣传其送花服务。所以如果一名客户想要使用关键词“Interflora”,通过Interflora的送货网络订购interflora的货品;

  • 金色线框中会出现马莎百货(Marks & Spencer)鲜花的广告
  • 其他花店的广告也会和Interflora官方网站的广告出现在一起

这对Interflora造成了两项主要财务影响。首先,Interflora的广告成本上涨了3000%以上。其次,Interflora的业务会被Marks & Spencer及其他竞争对手抢走。这意味着,从“搜索到购买”的转化率由于竞争对手的竞标关键词而显著下降。

品诚梅森受Interflora的委托,对竞标Interflora商标的所有竞争对手提起诉讼。 我们清理了“Google竞标情况”,直到仅剩下两家公司:Marks & Spencer以及Flowers Direct,以商标侵权的名义提起诉讼。 

在Interflora向其竞争对手M&S及Flowers Direct提起诉讼的同时,路易威登(Louis Vuitton)在法国直接将Google告上法庭。根据Louis Vuitton案件的判决,欧洲联盟法院创建了一项全新的侵权测试。这需要国家法院判定竞争对手的赞助链接是否可以“让一名消息灵通、具正常观察能力的互联网用户”发现商品广告是属于商标所有人,还是其竞争对手。 

在Interflora的诉讼中,为证明这一“透明度测试”而进行的消费者调查证据被上诉法院判为不合理,因为它为调查证据认可设置了新的成本/优势测试。因此,该案件在处理时,没有任何调查数据可以证明关键词会引起“混淆”的情况下,尽管这在商标案中经常使用。

解决方案

品诚梅森对“Google Analytics”的数据以及广告商使用的其他在线指标进行详细分析。他们追踪了互联网用户从最初搜索到最终购买的全过程,进而获取了匿名的“大数据”证据。这类证据表明搜索Interflora的顾客受到关键词广告的“混淆”,访问了M&S的网站,然后又在明显意识到这并非Interflora网络之后,立刻“反弹”回Google搜索页面 。

相比之下,数据表明,在Google上搜索Interflora、随后访问了正确网站并停留了相当长的一段时间的客户,通常会进行购买。

阿诺德(Arnold)法官最终同意该证据仅可以用被M&S广告误导的互联网用户的平均数量来证明,而这些广告出现在页面上看起来就好像是因为在搜索“Interflora”,所以才会这么显示。 

结果

这是法院有史以来首次接受此类“大数据”作为证明客户确实遭到混淆的实际证据。判决结果受到密切关注且在全球范围内获得了广泛报道,包括《金融时报》、伦敦《泰晤士报》以及《卫报》

Interflora成功获得禁令,不仅禁止M&S主动使用Interflora商标,同时迫使M&S与Interflora实现“负面匹配”,以便将前者从与鲜花有关的所有AdWords活动中排除。毫不夸张地说,这影响了关键词广告的全球战略。该案件遭到上诉,后来双方根据保密条款协商解决。

该案例充分表明,我们不仅是优秀的律师与行业专家:我们还是积极进取的技术专才,能为我们的客户发散创新思维。 

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

World map with data
138 min. read

Using big data in big litigation

Keyword advertising is worth around £3 billion a year in the UK alone, most of which is spent on Google’s AdWords programme. For most businesses it is an essential part of online retailing. But what happens when that online opportunity becomes a commercial threat? That was the scenario facing Interflora when a number of competitors chose to promote alternative flower delivery services by using Interflora trade marks as keywords.

The challenge

Enter a search term on Google and a page instantly delivers relevant listings both as adverts and ‘natural’ results. Competitors pay Google to sponsor ‘keywords’. Their adverts then appear at the top of the search results page in the ‘golden box’.

Some time ago Google changed its trade mark policy enabling companies to ‘bid’ on competitors’ trade marks in the Google AdWords advertising programme.

Interflora's competitors could therefore use the Interflora trade mark as an AdWord to advertise its flower delivery service. So when a customer wanting flowers from Interflora’s delivery network used the search term “Interflora”:

  • Adverts for Marks & Spencer’s flowers appeared in the golden box
  • Adverts for florists not in Interflora’s flower delivery network appeared alongside adverts for the official Interflora website

This had two major financial implications for Interflora. First, Interflora’s advertising costs went up over 3,000%. Second, Interflora lost business to Marks & Spencer and other competitors. This meant the conversion rate from ‘search to purchase’ dropped dramatically as a result of competitor keyword bidding.

Pinsent Masons was instructed by Interflora to pursue an action against all competitors bidding on the Interflora trade mark.  We cleared the ‘Google bidding landscape’ until only two companies remained, Marks & Spencer and Flowers Direct, against whom proceedings were launched for trade mark infringement.

Around the same time that Interflora launched proceedings against its competitors, M&S and Flowers Direct, Louis Vuitton took direct action against Google in France. As a result of Louis Vuitton’s case the Court of Justice of the European Union created a completely new test for infringement. This required the national court to determine whether the competitor’s sponsored link allowed a “reasonably well-informed and reasonably observant internet user” to tell if the advert for the goods came from the trade mark owner or the competitor.

In the Interflora action, the consumer survey evidence to satisfy this “transparency test” was ruled disproportionate by the Court of Appeal as it set a new cost/benefit test for the admissibility of survey evidence. The case was due to proceed without the benefit of a survey to evidence ‘confusion’ , the approach typically used in trade mark cases.

It is no understatement to say this has impacted keyword advertising strategies across the globe.

The solution

The team conducted a detailed analysis of the ‘Google Analytics’ data and other online metrics which advertisers use. They tracked the internet user’s journey from initial search to final purchase, thus acquiring anonymised ‘big data’ evidence. The evidence showed that ‘confused’ customers searched for Interflora, visited the M&S website, then ‘bounced’ immediately back to the Google search results page after apparently realising it was not part of the Interflora network.

By comparison, the data showed that customers who searched for Interflora on Google and subsequently visited its site stayed there for a considerable length of time, often to complete a purchase.

Justice Arnold accepted that this evidence could only be explained by average internet users being confused by the M&S advert which appeared on the search results page in response to a search for ‘Interflora’. 

The result

This was the first time a court had accepted this type of ‘big data’ evidence as a proxy for actual evidence of customer confusion. The outcome was closely watched and subsequently reported around the world, including in The Financial TimesThe Times of London and The Guardian.

An injunction was succesfully secured that not only prevented M&S from actively using the Interflora trade mark, it also forced M&S to ‘negative match’ Interflora so as to exclude it from all AdWords campaigns relevant to flowers. It is no understatement to say this has impacted keyword advertising strategies across the globe. The case was appealed and subsequently settled on confidential terms.

The case highlights that we are more than just good lawyers and sector experts: we are proactive and tech-savvy, and think creatively for and with our clients.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know