品诚梅森推出缓解气候变化和可持续发展平台

15 Sep 2020 | 04:28 pm |

国际律所品诚梅森任命能源业务合伙人Paul Rice领导新成立的“缓解气候变化和可持续发展”团队,致力于在全所范围内探索协调一致的方法应对气候危机。

Paul Rice自2017年起担任品诚梅森能源业务负责人,他将牵头律所的这一项目——协调律所内部以及面对客户的气候变化倡议,目标是进一步减少公司对环境的影响,并支持客户应对气候危机。

品诚梅森于2015年发起可持续发展倡议,2020年超越了“全英办事处绝对能耗下降20%”的目标。今年3月发布的报告显示,通过执行技术解决方案和向灵活业务的转型,品诚梅森实现了30%的绝对能耗下降。

Paul Rice说,“为了实现《巴黎协定》的目标,各国政府都大胆地设定了净零排放的目标,但是如果没有企业的参与,这样的目标难以实现。”

“¬¬¬气候目标的成功实现需要所有利益相关者对发展中的应对气候变化的相关法律和政策,以及企业如何适应新政并帮助遏制气候变化有深刻的理解。我们在全球开创性低碳项目上有丰富的工作经验,并希望进一步加深对企业面临的气候相关问题的理解。作为以目标为导向的企业,我们有责任携手共建更美好的世界,我期待迎接这一激动人心的新挑战。”

Paul是一位有26年从业经验的资深环境律师,擅长为能源发电新建项目提供法律服务,涵盖联合循环燃气轮机、核能、生物质能、热电厂、废转能设施——包括各类创新低碳项目,如Plasco 垃圾气化和关注碳捕集和利用的清洁技术公司CCm Technologies。

品诚梅森客户战略负责人Alastair Morrison说,“作为一家跨国公司,我们意识到企业行为对气候变化的影响。我们已经成功地减少了对环境的影响并推动了真正的变化,但我们知道这样的努力没有终点。Paul在能源领域的丰富经验非常适合领导这一新支柱业务。”

近年来,品诚梅森为许多开创性的清洁能源项目提供了法律服务,包括7月获得英国商业、能源和产业战略部内阁大臣开发许可的Cleve Hill太阳能公园项目。

关键联络人

Paul Rice

Paul Rice

Partner, Head of Energy, and Head of Climate Change Advisory

查看资料

我们的最新消息

显示所有新闻稿

银行与融资业务合伙人加入品诚梅森北京办事处

国际律所品诚梅森聘请吕康毅(Kanyi Lui)律师作为合伙人加入北京办事处,拓展律所在中国乃至亚太地区的银行与融资业务。

品诚梅森公布18/19财年全年业绩

品诚梅森律师事务所于今天公布了18/19财年未经审核的财务业绩报告。

查阅过这篇新闻稿的人还浏览了

显示所有新闻稿

银行与融资业务合伙人加入品诚梅森北京办事处

国际律所品诚梅森聘请吕康毅(Kanyi Lui)律师作为合伙人加入北京办事处,拓展律所在中国乃至亚太地区的银行与融资业务。

For all media enquiries, including arranging an interview with one of our spokespeople, please contact the press office on

+44 (0)20 7418 8199 or 

Location contacts

Pinsent Masons launches Climate Change Mitigation & Sustainability platform

07 Sep 2020 | 11:03 am | 1 min. read

Multinational law firm Pinsent Masons has appointed energy partner Paul Rice to lead its newly created Climate Change Mitigation and Sustainability group as it seeks to embed a coordinated, firmwide approach to the climate crisis.

Rice, who has been the firm's energy sector head since 2017, will lead the program which will coordinate internal and client facing climate change initiatives with the goal of further reducing the firm's environmental impact and supporting clients in tackling the climate crisis.

The appointment comes as the firm exceeds its 2020 target of a 20% reduction of absolute energy consumption across its UK offices following the launch of its sustainability initiative in 2015. In March the firm reported a 30% reduction achieved via implementation of tech solutions and the firm's transformation to an agile business.

Paul Rice said, "Governments around the world are setting bold net zero targets in order to meet the Paris Agreement goals, but these cannot be achieved without businesses playing their part.

"Successful implementation requires all stakeholders to foster deeper understanding of the developing law and policies addressing climate change and how a business can adapt and play its part in helping to arrest climate change. We have a wealth of experience working on ground breaking low carbon projects around the world and want to further embed a deep understanding of the climate related issues that all businesses are now facing. As a purpose-led business we have a responsibility to help shape a better world and I look forward to taking on this exciting new challenge."

An environmental lawyer by background with 26 years of experience, Paul has expertise advising on energy generation new build projects across CCGT, nuclear, biomass, combined heat and power plants, and energy from waste facilities – including a wide range of innovative low carbon projects including Plasco waste gasification and CCm Technologies.

Head of client strategy Pinsent Masons, Alastair Morrison, said, "As a global organisation we are both cognisant and conscious of the impact we have on climate change. We have been successful in reducing our environmental impact and fostering genuine change but we recognise that there is no end date. Paul's experience in the energy sector makes him a natural fit to lead this new pillar of the firm."

The firm has advised on a number of ground-breaking clean energy projects in recent years including the Cleve Hill Solar Park project which was granted development consent by the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy in July.

Key Contacts

Latest press releases

Show me all press releases

Pinsent Masons commits to London Data Charter to tackle London’s biggest challenges

Multinational law firm Pinsent Masons has created, and committed to, the London Data Charter - a statement of intent that organisations, both public and private, can adopt to put data at the heart of solving London’s biggest challenges.

Pinsent Masons bolsters Climate Change Mitigation and Sustainability team

Multinational law firm Pinsent Masons has named Michael Watson as its new Head of Climate Change Mitigation and Sustainability team, and appointed former OFGEM General Counsel, Euan McVicar, as Senior Climate Adviser.

Pinsent Masons appoints leading Life Sciences IP partner in London

Multinational law firm Pinsent Masons has recruited Life Sciences partner Gina Bicknell, adding additional skills and strength to its Technology, Science and Industry (TSI) sector capabilities.

People who viewed this press release also viewed

Show me all press releases

Pinsent Masons bolsters Climate Change Mitigation and Sustainability team

Multinational law firm Pinsent Masons has named Michael Watson as its new Head of Climate Change Mitigation and Sustainability team, and appointed former OFGEM General Counsel, Euan McVicar, as Senior Climate Adviser.

Pinsent Masons appoints leading Life Sciences IP partner in London

Multinational law firm Pinsent Masons has recruited Life Sciences partner Gina Bicknell, adding additional skills and strength to its Technology, Science and Industry (TSI) sector capabilities.

Pinsent Masons wins Construction Law Firm of the Year at the Asian Legal Business Hong Kong Law Awards

Multinational law firm Pinsent Masons has been named Construction Law Firm of the Year at the Asian Legal Business Hong Kong Law Awards. This is the eleventh time in twelve years that the firm has been awarded the Construction Law Firm of the Year accolade.

For all media enquiries, including arranging an interview with one of our spokespeople, please contact the press office on

+44 (0)20 7418 8199 or 

Location contacts