越南上网电价补贴政策已见成效,但仍面临挑战

Out-Law分析 | 17 Oct 2019 | 12:00 am |

越南自2017年开始实行的上网电价补贴政策在提升可再生能源发电能力上收效高于预期。许多投资者继续致力于该计划,但仍面临挑战。

2017和2018年,越南引入了针对太阳能和风能项目富有吸引力的高上网电价补贴政策,这极大地激励了可再生能源领域私人投资的热情。

有人对这一举措的有效性抱有疑虑。2017年5月发布的20年购电协议并没有规定独立仲裁,也不包含适当的终止赔偿条款。这令投资者和出资方感到担忧,而且意味着当地银行仍然是项目融资的主要来源。

投资者还担心电网问题和削减风险,国有电力公司越南电力(EVN)可能拒绝购买已经产生的电能。

但是政府正在考虑新的太阳能上网电价补贴政策,并希望在2019年底前执行,显然会有足够多的开发商愿意参与到新一轮的可再生太阳能发电项目。但是长期运营商需要考虑一直存在的削减风险、电网问题以及由于购电协议结构和上网电价补贴削减带来的成本复杂性。

亚洲开发银行等多边机构可能会为政府提供急需的传统银行无法或不愿意提供的缺口资金,例如Da Mi 水电站的越南第一个浮式太阳能项目(峰值47.5兆瓦的浮式光伏发电设施)几乎一半成本由亚洲开发银行资助(1760万美元)。

和其他国家一样,越南的上网电价补贴也会逐渐减少,因为这一政策设计为初始产能建设机制,非长期的资金来源。到目前为止,补贴已经成功达到了产能建设的目的。

根据 pv-magazine环境、社会与企业治理论坛的数据,太阳能项目2017年引入的综合上网电价补贴为每千瓦时0.0935美元,2019年6月到期,已经吸引了4.46千兆瓦太阳能的开发。区域专家一直担心该计划可能无法为出资者提供足够的利益。

根据 IJGlobal杂志的数据,自2018年11月1日起,陆上风电的上网电价补贴从每千瓦时0.085美元提高到0.098美元,以实现政府到2020年风电装机总容量达到800兆瓦的目标。新的上网电价补贴包括在2021年11月1日之前开始运营的项目。近岸和离岸站点具有未来风电项目的巨大潜力,特别是在像胡志明市等高电力需求的地区附近。

power-technology数据,目前太阳能占到越南电力总容量的8.28%。但是,开发商未来可能很难获得公司保障,或在上网电价补贴开始逐渐减少后面临与购电协议相关的其他财务问题——这一补贴削减计划于2020年开始。

Asset报道,越南计划到2030年21%的装机容量来自可再生能源,其中太阳能和风能占比约11%。

Pv-magazine称,越南国家工商贸易部提案草案的意在将大型太阳能项目的上网电价补贴削减20%,并提议将上网电价补贴水平应用到全国,并非为了在服务匮乏地区开发新产能而在不同地区使用不同的方案。

Vietnam FiTs have been successful but challenges remain

Out-Law Analysis | 17 Oct 2019 | 11:20 am | 2 min. read

Vietnam's use of feed in tariffs (FiTs) since 2017 has been more successful than expected in increasing its renewable power generation capacity. Many investors continue to commit to schemes but still face challenges.

In 2017 and 2018, Vietnam's push to incentivise private investment in renewables was greatly accelerated by the introduction of attractive high FiT schemes for both solar and wind projects.

There were some doubts about how effective this measure would be. The 20 year power purchase agreement (PPA) released in May 2017 did not provide for independent arbitration and did not contain an appropriate termination compensation clause. This worried investors and lenders  and meant that local banks were still the main source of project finance.

Investors also worried about electricity grid issues and about the risk of curtailment, where state-owned power company Vietnam Electricity (EVN) can refuse to buy the power generated.

But as the government considers a new draft of solar FiT policy which it hopes to implement by the end of 2019, it is clear that there are sufficient numbers of willing developers eager to  participate in a new wave of renewable solar energy generation projects. But long-term operators will have to consider the ongoing curtailment risks, grid issues and cost complications arising from the PPA structure and reductions in FiT payments.

Panwar Priya

Priya Dalal

Senior Associate

Long-term operators will have to consider the ongoing curtailment risks, grid issues and cost complications arising from the PPA structure 

Multilateral institutions like the Asian Development Bank (ADB) may provide the government with much needed gap funding for projects where traditional banks are unable or unwilling, as happened with the first floating solar project in Vietnam (47.5 MW peak floating PV facility) on the Da Mi hydropower plant where almost half the cost was funded by ADB (US$17.6m).

As in other countries FiT payments in Vietnam will reduce over time as they are designed as an initial capacity-building mechanism rather than a long term source of funding. The payments have succeeded in building capacity so far.

For solar projects a blanket FiT of $0.0935 per kWh introduced in 2017 for expiry at the end of June 2019, has attracted the development of 4.46 GW of solar capacity, according to pv-magazine and ESG . Regional experts had been worried that the program may not have offered enough benefit to funders.

The wind power feed-in-tariff (FiT) was raised to $0.085 per kWh for onshore and $0.098 per kWh for offshore projects from 1 November 2018 so as to reach the government’s target of 800MW of wind capacity by 2020, according to IJGlobal. The new FiTs cover projects that commence operations before 1 November 2021. Nearshore and offshore sites have the greatest potential for future wind projects, particularly near places with high power needs like Ho Chi Minh city.

According to power-technology, solar power now makes up 8.28% of Vietnam’s electricity capacity. However, developers might in future begin to struggle to obtain corporate guarantees or have other financing issues with the PPA after the gradual reductions in the FiT reductions proposed to start in 2020, actually commence.

Vietnam is targeting 21% of installed capacity by 2030 to come from renewables, with solar and wind comprising some 11%, according to The Asset.

Pv magazine said, the MOIT's draft proposal plan is to cut FiTs for large scale solar projects by 20% and it proposes applying FiT levels for the whole nation rather than varying payments geographically to drive new capacity to under-served areas.