Out-Law / Your Daily Need-To-Know

Singapore suspends some travel from Malaysia, Germany and South Korea

Out-Law News | 09 Feb 2021 | 2:17 am | 1 min. read

Singapore has suspended reciprocal green lane (RGL) coronavirus travel arrangements with Malaysia, Germany, South Korea for three months effective from 1 February.

Travellers who have already been approved to enter Singapore under RGL would not be affected and can continue to do so, a statement said.

Singapore agreed RGL arrangements with Malaysia, Germany, and South Korea in late summer and autumn.  RGLs with Indonesia and Japan have also been suspended.

Under the RGL plan, residents from the countries can arrange short-term business and official travel in Singapore for up to 14 days. Travellers must be tested negative for Covid-19 before they start their trip and again on arrival. They must be isolated until the test results are available and must follow a monitored schedule during the stay.

Another cross-border travel scheme is the safe travel agreement Periodic Commuting Arrangement (PCA) between the governments of Singapore and Malaysia that started in August. This is open to Malaysians who are Singapore permanent residents working in Singapore, citizens and permanent residents of both countries who hold long-term immigration passes in the other country.

Under the PCA, approved travellers must have stayed in their country of employment for at least 90 days before returning to their home country for short-term home leave.

Mayumi Soh of Pinsent Masons MPillay, the Singapore joint law venture between MPillay and Pinsent Masons, the law firm behind Out-Law, said: “The border measures are reviewed on a regular basis. Travellers should make sure they check the SafeTravel website to check for the most updated border measures.”