城市交通隧道

建造智能城市

‘智能城市’即生态环保、技术先进的一体化城市,发展智能城市是各国政府的优先要务。我们帮助一家当地监管机构将这一愿景变为现实。

 

挑战

2008年,彼得伯勒市议会(PCC)推出了一项远大的目标,将彼得伯勒打造成英国环保之都。这是一个极为大胆的目标,市议会意识到要想实现这一目标,他们需要改变工作方式。

这一转型计划的规模和范围前所未见,且在公共部门没有任何先例可循。

品诚梅森早在构思阶段就被邀请参与。除了提供法律建议,我们还需要为与中央政府政策的交集部分带来的机会、财政考量,以及能源企业的商业驱动因素等提供战略意见。 

解决方案

品诚梅森通过与客户密切合作,帮助他们了解什么是法律和政治结构允许的行为。我们接着又结合团队对于中央政府的政策与工具的深入了解,包括分析绿色交易(The Green Deal)以及能源公司义务等项目带来的机会。这还包括评估英国天然气及绿色投资银行等机构的目标。 
这些造就的计划包含五个核心部分:
1. ‘随时切换供应商’
该计划的核心在于首创的集体切换方案。目标是充分利用当地政府机构的购买力,令参与者获得更大优惠,使得整座城市的居民和中小企业联合起来,结为一体,令谈判进而获得更为优惠的能源价格。
参与者受邀访问网站进行详情免费注册。他们需要提供当前天然气与电力的能源用量。能源供应商然后会有机会参与逆向拍卖。价格最低的供应商将在拍卖中胜出。 该方案吸引了超过五万名参与者,预期节省的能源费用达到100万英镑,成为英国规模最大的同类型活动。 
2. 改造公共建筑
许多公共部门大楼的能效低下,热能与电能浪费严重。品诚梅森制定的英国路线图计划,通过与绿色投资银行合作,为公共部门运营的大楼引入第三方投资者。
该项目通过合同能源管理(EPC)制定,旨在引入私人部门投资者为公共大楼改造提供资金。投资者可以通过担保的能源费用节省来收回成本投资。这种创新的投资结构在英国尚属首创。
3. 与英国天然气公司结成战略合作关系
我们促成PCC和英国天然气公司签订了一份协议,为数万户家庭提供节能补贴措施。这新增了数以百计的工作岗位,提高了约7,000户家庭的能源效率,为当地失业或正在读书或接受职业培训的年轻人提供了600个工作岗位。
4. ‘自己生产’电能
Viridor是英国首屈一指的资源回收、可再生能源与垃圾管理企业。我们的客户与Virdor签订了一份合同,委托其每年处理最多85,000吨残余垃圾。这些垃圾将免于进行填埋,每年可以产生7.25兆瓦的电能。
我们在合同中添加了一条特别条款,以便PCC购买该工厂生产的电力。这是首次达成具有此类条款的协议。借助该协议,PCC将能够通过可再生的碳中和来源满足其市政和公共建筑的能源需求,其中包括180间学校。
彼得伯勒市议会还创立了自己的能源企业。这意味它能向社区供应电力,回报市议会的纳税人。鉴于市议会拥有自己的发电设施,它能够冻结长期价格,从而帮助缺少能源供应的弱势人群。 
5. 与中国企业建立突破性合作关系
品诚梅森推动了PCC与AVIC达成战略合作关系,后者是一家中国的国有企业,在可再生能源和节能减排方面拥有丰富的经验和专长。
目标在于:
提供新的工作岗位与培训
支持获得更优质的大学/高等教育机会
支持开发最终制造设施,用于生产彼得伯勒所需的智能量表、太阳能面板与路灯

 

Ed Davey

英国能源和气候变化国务大臣

“我很欣赏彼得伯勒及其合作伙伴推出的这一项目。地方监管机构鼓励英国的各级市议会紧跟他们的脚步。”

结果

该计划为彼得伯勒市民节省了数百万英镑的能源费用。“随时切换供应商”项目吸引了50,000多名成员,部分参与者表示每年最多可以节省400英镑。
我们每年为市议会增加了520万英镑收入。这意味着市议会的开支削减得到了抵消,其对政府前台服务的影响也大幅降低。

The development of ‘Smart Cities’ – environmentally friendly, technologically integrated municipalities – is a priority for governments around the world. We helped bring one local authority's vision to life.


The challenge

In 2008, Peterborough City Council (PCC) adopted an ambitious target to make Peterborough the UK’s Environment Capital. It was a bold aim, and the council recognised that to achieve this it would need to do things differently.

The scale and scope of the change programme was unprecedented, and unlike anything seen in the public sector before.

Pinsent Masons has been involved since the inception. In addition to providing legal advice, we were asked to offer a strategic perspective on opportunities arising at the intersection of central government policy, fiscal considerations and commercial drivers for energy-sector players. 

Ed Davey

Speaking as Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change

“I welcome this initiative by Peterborough and its partner local authorities [and] encourage councils across the country to follow their lead”.

The solution

Pinsent Masons worked with the client to understand what would be acceptable from a legal and political perspective. We then married this to our detailed knowledge of policies and vehicles coming from central government, including analysis of the opportunities afforded by initiatives such as The Green Deal and the Energy Company Obligation. It also involved review of the objectives of organisations such as British Gas and the Green Investment Bank. The resulting programme comprised five core components:

 

1. ‘Ready to switch’
At the heart of the programme was a first-of-its-kind collective switching scheme. It was aimed at leveraging the purchasing power of local authorities to get a better deal for constituents. It enabled residents and SMEs across the city to join together as a single unit to negotiate cheaper energy bills.

Participants were invited to visit a website to register their details free of charge. They were asked to provide their current energy usage figures for gas and electricity. Energy suppliers were then offered the opportunity to participate in a reverse auction. The supplier with the lowest tariff was the successful bidder. The scheme attracted over 50,000 participants, and anticipated savings of over a £1 million. This made it the largest of its kind in the UK. 

 

2. Retrofitting public buildings
Many public sector buildings are energy-inefficient and waste significant amounts of heat and power. Pinsent Masons developed the UK pathfinder project, enabling third-party investment to buildings operated by the public sector in association with the Green Investment Bank.

The project was developed through Energy Performance Contracting (EnPC). It was structured to enable a retrofit to be funded entirely by private sector investors. The investors receive repayment of the capital cost through the guaranteed savings in energy bills. This innovative structure was the first of its kind in the UK.

 

3. Strategic partnership with British Gas
We brokered a deal between PCC and British Gas to roll out subsidised energy efficiency measures to thousands of homes. This created hundreds of new jobs and enabled some 7,000 homes to be improved. It created 600 local jobs for young people who were unemployed or in education or training.

 

4. ‘Grow your own’ energy
Viridor is one of the UK’s leading recycling, renewable energy and waste management companies. Our client contracted with Viridor to process up to 85,000 tonnes of residual waste per annum. It diverted waste from landfill and generated net electrical power of 7.25 megawatts per year.

We incorporated into the contract structure a unique provision for PCC to purchase the electricity created from the plant. This was the first time a deal of this nature had been struck. Through it, PCC obtained all its energy requirements for municipal and civic buildings from a renewable and carbon-neutral source. It included 180 schools.
The Council also established its own energy supply business. This meant it could supply electricity, which Council Tax payers had paid for, back to the community. Given the Council owns the generating facility, it can freeze long-term prices, helping the vulnerable and fuel poor. 


5. A ground-breaking Chinese partnership
Pinsent Masons helped broker a strategic partnership between PCC and AVIC, a Chinese state-owned company with significant experience and expertise in renewable energy and energy efficiency. The objectives were to:
Deliver new jobs and training
Support development of an enhanced university/higher education offering
Support development of a final fabrication facility for smart meters, solar panels and street lighting in Peterborough
AVIC in turn explored commercial opportunities linked to:
Installation of solar PV canopies in Peterborough’s car parks
LED street lighting
Municipal Wi-Fi
Development of an integrated transport platform bringing together CCTV, live passenger and other data to create a smarter transit system.

The result

This programme saved millions of pounds for the citizens of Peterborough. ‘Ready to Switch’ attracted over 50,000 members, with some participants reporting annual savings of up to £400. Further, savings and revenues generated for the council meant that the impact of cuts to central government budgets were mitigated, and greater protection afforded for frontline services.