在海滩上的人

驾驭休闲假期行业的破产困境

休闲旅游行业在过去几年取得了极为快速的发展。然而,在过去的12个月,由于多家知名企业相继倒闭,该行业受到了广泛波及。由于英镑相比其他货币汇率走弱,许多休闲旅游企业的业务成本出现了稳定增长,而战争、恐怖主义和疾病等地域风险又导致业务增长速度大幅下降。

在2016至2017整整两年间,我们为All Leisure Group plc的破产申请提供了咨询服务,这家著名的旅游和旅行经营公司成为休闲旅游行业近期最为重要的破产案件之一。

挑战

旅游企业的现金流主要来自客户的预存款。在动荡的行业环境中,旅游行业的管理团队须慎重考虑,能否在如此困难的大环境下继续开展业务。

此外,在消费者保护方面,旅游企业还面临着远比大多数其他企业沉重的负担。很大程度上,这些法律的出台是因为十多年前曾有旅游企业倒闭致使数万名游客被困海外。因此,如果旅游企业希望寻找,或者根据建议需要寻找破产执行人或者其他机构,就其财务情况或继续经营能力提供意见,则必须符合严格的要求。

因此,All Leisure破产案的具体难点在于需要主要监管机构的配合,并且在早期阶段寻找协作安排,同时继续经营业务以便能够捆绑出售旅游业务。

对于All Leisure的邮轮业务,该问题由于破产法与海事法的共同作用而更为棘手。

Eddie Williams

Grant Thornton合伙人

主题引言:破产是一种需要具备专业知识的专业人员来提供的高水准服务;但归根结底,它取决于品诚梅森内部主要合伙人和重组团队的项目管理、领导力以及专注力。 项目涉及多个学科的要求以及不同人员开展合作的方式,以便为非常技术性的问题提供答案,这是成功的重要因素。

解决方案

我们代表董事会采取行动,进行复杂的结构重组,包括对主要行业监管机构采取积极协作的态度,以便能将旅游业成功捆绑出售。我们还就邮轮业务的后续管理提供了咨询建议,因为后者涉及多个司法辖区并且需要解决国际海事法、地方海事法以及破产法之间冲突规定。我们最终成功提出一项实用的解决方案,保护了债权人的利益。

关键在于,必须在寻求出售公司业务和资产的同时,确保旅游业务继续经营以保持其价值。旅游监管机构的权力同样不能低估。民用航空管理局(CAA)作为负责监督和规范英国民航业务的法定公司,亏损企业向其报告的时间限制非常明确而且紧迫。未能遵守这些规定可能导致企业的ATOL许可被CAA收回、暂停或变更。此等处罚会导致公司立即停止经营,因为在缺少许可的情况下,无法开展业务活动。

不过,部分监管机构已经表明他们会在企业寻求财务解决方案时暂缓干预,以便能取得更为积极的结果。

在All Leisure如此复杂的破产案中,与主要监管机构达成协作协议通常是破产企业的最佳选择。在旅游业务的整个出售过程中,CAA需要了解重大事项,并参与出售流程,有权否决或批准任何收购方,以及参与谈判具体的销售条款。

品诚梅森对于旅游行业法规的深入了解以及采取的协作方式,令监管机构相信我们能取得更为积极的结果,只要让公司继续经营且不采取任何交易限制,因为这样有助于旅游业务的捆绑出售。

除了让监管机构满意,我们还必须驾驭破产法与航空法以及海事法之间的复杂变化,前者从整体上说是一种描述性的规定性质法律,两者交错会让情况变得更为复杂。举例来说,海事法并不认可通常[债权人]优先顺序。

品诚梅森必须克服极为复杂和时间紧迫的问题,以释放邮轮企业名下一艘遭到扣押的邮轮并确保资产得到出售,同时保证债权人的利益 。我们的团队获得了该邮轮扣押地点,新加坡高等法院颁布的延期履行权,防止任何其他债权人扣押资产,导致受控制的销售流程无法进行。

影响

依靠给该公司董事会提供的法律战略和建议,大约160个直接岗位得以保留。All Leisure曾是马基特哈伯勒(Market Harborough)最大的企业之一,捆绑打包销售协议因此在当地产生了重要影响。

13,000人的假期预订以保留,让未来的假期可以如期进行,避免了CAA以及信用卡公司收到大量索赔。

该破产案还见证了新的数据保护法律的诞生,为寻求保护数据等重要资产的破产执行人提供了保障。我们成功地表明客户的个人信息不应在管理事务的声明中披露。我们获得许可进行有限披露以保护商业敏感信息。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

People on a beach

Navigating insolvency in the leisure and holidays sector

The leisure sector has grown at a remarkable pace over the last few years. However, in the last 12 months, this sector has been widely impacted by a number of high profile insolvencies. Following a weakening of the pound sterling against other currencies, businesses across the leisure sector have seen a steady increase in the cost of leisure and travel, whilst the rate of uptake has fallen dramatically due to geopolitical risks such as war, terrorism and disease.

During the course of 2016 and throughout 2017, we advised on one of the most significant leisure sector casualties in recent times, All Leisure Group plc, a travel and tour operating company.

The challenge

A travel company’s cash flow is largely funded by customer deposits. In an uncertain trading environment, management teams within the travel industry have been forced to consider carefully the ability to continue to trade in such difficult and sector specific circumstances.

In addition, travel companies are also faced with greater burdens than most other sectors concerning consumer protection. Such legislation is borne largely out of the collapse of travel companies in previous decades which have left hundreds of thousands of travelers stranded abroad. A travel company is therefore subject to stringent requirements should it seek advice, or be advised to seek, advice from an insolvency practitioner or any other person relating to its financial position or ability to continue to trade.

What made the All Leisure case particularly challenging therefore, was the need to engage with key regulators and seek a collaborative arrangement at an early stage whilst continuing to trade the business in order to ensure that a pre-pack sale of the tours business could be facilitated.

In respect of All Leisure's cruise business, the matter was also challenging due to the confluence of insolvency and complex maritime law.

Eddie Williams

Partner, Grant Thornton

It was a high level of service provided by the right people with the right expertise; but above all, it was due to the project management, leadership and commitment of the lead partner and the restructuring team within Pinsent Masons. The project involved multiple disciplinary requirements and the way in which the people worked together to deliver answers to some quite technical questions was a very important part of the success.

The solution

We acted for the board of directors in a complex restructuring involving taking a collaborative approach with key sector regulators, which enabled the successful pre-pack sale of the tours business. We also advised in relation to the subsequent administration of the cruise business, spanning across several legal jurisdictions and requiring an unravelling of the intricate interaction between international, local maritime and insolvency law. This enabled us to deliver a pragmatic solution whilst preserving value for creditors.

It was vital for the tours business to continue trading to preserve value while a sale of its business and assets was pursued. The power of the regulatory body in the travel sector should not be underestimated. The time limits for a distressed company to report to the CAA, the statutory corporation which oversees and regulates all aspects of civil aviation in the UK, are specific and short. Failure to comply may result in the CAA revoking, suspending or varying an ATOL licence. Such an event would result in the business immediately ceasing to trade given its inability to trade without a license.

Some regulatory bodies have, however, demonstrated that they will refrain intervention whilst a financial solution is pursued - provided that a more positive result can be achieved.

In complex cases, such as All Leisure, a collaborative arrangement with key sector regulators is often the best option available to a distressed company. Throughout the sale of the tours business, the CAA were kept materially informed, and involved in the sale process, vetting and approving any proposed purchaser and negotiating the terms of the sale agreement.

Pinsent Masons' intricate understanding of leisure sector regulation and the collaborative approach adopted enabled the key regulators to satisfy themselves that a more positive outcome would be achieved if the company continued to trade and if no trading restrictions were imposed, which in turn facilitated a pre-pack sale of the tours business.

In addition to satisfying the regulators, the firm also had to navigate the complex interplay between insolvency law – which is, on the whole, a prescriptive and well established area of law – and areas of aviation and maritime law which can become more complex when mixed.  For example, maritime law subverts the usual order of creditor priority.

Pinsent Masons had to overcome complex and time critical issues to release a vessel owned by the cruise business from arrest and secure a sale of the asset, whilst preserving value for creditors. Our team obtained a partial moratorium in the Singapore High Court, the location in which the vessel was docked, which prevented any further creditors from detaining the asset and further frustrating a controlled sale process.

Impact

Approximately 160 direct jobs were rescued as a result of our legal strategy and advice to the board of directors. All Leisure group was one of the largest employers in Market Harborough, the pre-pack sale therefore had significant impact locally.

The holiday bookings of 13,000 people were saved. This enabled future holidays to take place and prevented a significant claim being made against the CAA and credit card companies.

The deal also saw the creation of new data protection case law, providing reassurance for insolvency practitioners seeking to protect a valuable asset such as data. We successfully argued that customers' personal details should not to be disclosed in the statement of affairs of the administration. We were granted limited disclosure in order to protect commercially sensitive information.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know