城市轮廓

为Ebbsfleet花园城照亮前路

Ebbsfleet花园城项目是欧洲同类型最大的住宅开发项目之一,其最初规划可以追溯到2002年。随后的15年中,该项目仅交付了原计划15,000套房屋中的65套。

该项目已陷入僵局,这在一定程度上是因为缺少配套的公用设施,导致难以吸引住宅开发商。因此必须采用全新的方式。

挑战

城市级别的公用设施配套在某些国家存在不少问题。在英国,法律禁止电网运营商将基建投资用于“提前规划”的项目。因此,电网运营商无法提前建设网络。他们仅可以在有需要连接第三方的情况下投资建设电网。正是这一规定阻止了英国出现大量新房和基础设施项目。

这种两难境地导致英国政府在2015年创建了Ebbsfleet开发公司(EDC)。这有助于通过建立配套的公共基础设施,加快实现花园城项目。

EDC希望为开发商提供“配套齐全”的项目地点,以便后者可以在短时间内交付大量房屋。为此,他们必须:

  • 找到一种机制,可以允许进行电力基础设施的远期投资;
  • 与此同时,建立一种法律机制,可以收回投资。

品诚梅森受到委托,寻找解决方案。

Nicola Coppen

EDC公用设施主管

主题引言:“我对品诚梅森印象深刻。他们非常专业且高效。令我们相信委托他们处理的工作进展顺利,如果在这个过程中我们有什么变更,或者遇到什么难题,他们都能完美应对。

解决方案

我们采用了一种双管齐下的创新方式。首先,我们的团队与英国电网以及英国政府合作,确保之前未经检验的法律规定以及《1989年电力法案》中的现有原则可以用于EDC。这样就能让电网运营商收回投资。该模式还需要与相关的电力网络法律以及电力行业规范协调一致。

这一流程,以及我们与基建项目管理局的讨论,带来了积极的结果。主要法律条文业已修改,解决了该问题,确保其他机构未来也能够考虑采用这种方法。

其次,团队与英国电网达成了一份协议,呼应了法律规定的投资回报机制。这确保EDC可以通过一种或多种机制收回投资。 

这是一项引领先锋的项目,众多利益相关方及咨询顾问在多个工作流中开展合作。我们采取有效且高效的项目管理技术,确保所有活动协调一致,同时利益相关方可以随时随地获取正确的信息。

影响

2017年7月,获得英国能源行业监管机构天然气和电力市场办公室(OFGEM)的批准之后,EDC与英国电网签订了一份突破性协议:

  • 投资电力基础设施;
  • 供应最多达15,000户家庭以及未来15年新的城市中心。

律所解决的主要问题在于找到一种解决方案推动“提前规划”的投资。由于1989年英国能源行业的私有化,这方面原有的解决方案现在已经行不通,经过我们的努力最终得以解决。

英国政府公开表示没有品诚梅森设计的协议框架,许多未来的战略性基础设施项目都无法在承诺的时间内完成。

此外,我们的解决方案已经成为英国各个大型项目在实现公共设施配套基建方面的蓝本。

品诚梅森后来还受邀参与协助类似的开发项目,包括:剑桥和彼得伯勒联合管理局负责的市级住房基础设施项目Manydown以及Wisbech花园城。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

City outline in light
2 min. read

Turning the lights on at Ebbsfleet Garden City

The Ebbsfleet Garden City scheme, one of the largest housing projects of its type in Europe, was originally granted planning consent back in 2002. Over 15 years later it had delivered just 65 of the planned 15,000 homes.

The project had stalled, partly due to the difficulties in attracting housing developers without the right utility infrastructure in place. A fresh approach was needed.

The challenge

Utility provision at city scale presents a problem in some countries. In the UK regulatory restrictions prevent electricity network operators from passing on the capital cost of infrastructure expenses "ahead of need". Network operators will not usually forward fund the network. They will only invest if there is a need to connect a third party. This has been a major inhibitor to new housing and infrastructure provision in the UK.

This dilemma prompted the UK government to set up the Ebbsfleet Development Corporation (EDC) in 2015. This would help accelerate delivery of the Garden City by establishing the right utilities infrastructure.

EDC wanted to provide developers with an "oven ready" site that could deliver housing at pace and scale. The only way to do this was to:

  • Find a mechanism which would allow forward funding of the electricity infrastructure;
  • At the same time create a legal mechanism to recover the investment.

Pinsent Masons was tasked with finding an answer.

Nicola Coppen

Utilities lead at EDC

I was very impressed with Pinsent Masons. They were very professional and efficient. They gave us confidence that what we were asking them for was on the right route and where we had changes and a couple of curve balls came in, it did not throw them off.

The solution

We used an innovative two pronged approach to secure the deal. First, the team worked with UK Power Networks and the UK government to ensure that previously untested legislation and established principles in the Electricity Act 1989 could apply to EDC. This would enable it to recoup its funding. This model also needed to be reconciled with relevant electricity network codes and electricity industry practice.

This process, and our discussions with the Infrastructure Projects Authority, produced a positive result. The primary legislation was amended, unblocking the issue and ensuring other bodies would be able to consider this approach in future.

Secondly, the team negotiated a contractual approach with UK Power Networks, which echoed the recovery mechanism under the legislation. This ensured that EDC will recoup its funding, via one mechanism or the other. 

This was a trailblazing project, with many interested parties and advisors working across multiple workstreams. We used efficient and effective project management techniques to ensure that all activity was coordinated and stakeholders had access to the right information at the right time.

Impact

In July 2017, following approval from regulator OFGEM, EDC signed a groundbreaking deal with UK Power Networks to:

  • Invest in the electricity infrastructure;
  • Supply up to 15,000 homes and the new city centre over the next 15 years.

The key issue the firm unlocked was finding a solution to bring forward the investment "ahead of need". Certain routes to achieving this, which have been blocked since the privatisation of the UK energy sector in 1989, have been unblocked as a consequence of our work.

The UK government has openly stated that without the framework devised by Pinsent Masons, many future strategic infrastructure projects in the UK would not come forward within the committed timescales.

Further, our solution is now being used as the blueprint for delivering utility infrastructure across all major UK projects.

This firm has subsequently been asked to assist on similar UK developments including: Cambridge and Peterborough Combined Authority on key Mayoral housing infrastructure projects Manydown and Wisbech Garden City.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know