气候危机将如何影响企业战略

气候危机对越来越多的企业构成了根本性挑战,或因它改变了企业产出的价值,或因它威胁了企业的运营。现在,制定策略必须将气候因素考虑在内,企业总法律顾问可以很好地帮助解决所涉及的问题。

 

气候变化将重塑世界:要么因为我们没有很好加以解决,自然环境的变化颠覆了我们固有的生活;要么因为我们力图应对,因此永远改变了原本的日常生活方式。
曾经企业或许可以对气候问题视若无睹,或者在公司网站无人问津的小角落放一些虚无缥缈的气候目标,但这在现在行不通了。气候问题将改变员工的生活,改变监管环境,大多数情况下甚至改变整套业务战略。
气候变化将对企业遵循的战略结构带来重要且根本性的挑战,需要得到领导层的关注。
品诚梅森客户战略主管Alastair Morrison说,“这是董事会问题,这样的问题不能外包给某个部门,它必须引起公司层面的注意。”
公司愈加意识到气候问题的重要性——需要结合战略思维、法律和法规的专业知识来应对,并且要有决心面对公司文化变革带来的挑战。这意味着总法律顾问非常适合在解决气候问题上起主导作用。
Morrison表示,许多总法律顾问已经意识到气候问题并采取了行动。“在与公司法务的交流中,我们惊喜地发现总体意识上的提升以及改变的愿意。个人层面的意识度很高——每个人都了解我们面临的挑战和问题。”
“资深法务在公司内影响力很大,他们中很多人都擅长宣传,他说,“因此,了解气候相关的技术问题或有良好的科学背景,再加上对公司目前状况的了解,法务人员能够利用在董事会的影响力,提高对气候问题的意识,探讨公司可以如何作为。”
气候危机
2015年《巴黎协定》设定的目标是将全球气温的升幅控制在相较工业化前水平的2°C以内,并努力将温度上升幅度限制在1.5°C以内。如果全球变暖以目前速度继续下去,预计到本世纪末全球将升温3°C。
这一升幅对于非科学家来说可能不大,但其影响却是巨大的。上一次冰河期的成因是温度下降仅3.5°C——对外行而言看起来很小的变化却会产生重大的影响。
现在我们已经目睹升温1°C的影响:更多高温天气,更多热浪,澳大利亚丛林大火以及南极冰架不可逆的融化。
如果我们不遏制升温,到本世纪末,世界部分地区的人们将无法外出,粮食价格面临上涨,沿海地区洪灾将波及5%的人口,海洋环流减弱意味着更加不可预测的极端天气。
企业的作用
采取行动势在必行。但应该由企业负责作出改变吗?

朱倍贺(Philippe Joubert)认为答案是肯定的,这不仅是为了社会福祉,也是为了企业自身。不顺势而为的企业将很难生存发展。
朱倍贺曾任运输和电力设备制造商阿尔斯通公司(Alstom)的副首席执行官,后来成立并运营Earth On Board公司,专门帮助企业在制定政策时考虑气候危机。
他说,2015年是一个分水岭,《巴黎协议》的签署和可持续发展目标的制定使董事们不能再说他们不知道决策时要考虑气候因素了。
“我们需要做出改变,2015年就是世界认识到这一点的一年”,他说,“企业不再是一个问题,而应该是解决方案。我们影响力的70%到80%来自于企业,企业是唯一拥有资源的人类组织,其组织架构和响应速度可以帮助我们找到解决方案。但是,真正的解决方案是,我们应该设计出另一种不从大自然中予取予求的商业模式。”
朱倍贺说,现代经济的商业模式将自然视作一种免费资源,这必须加以改变——商业模式必须考虑使用与污染水源、空气以及影响动物授粉能力给地球增加的成本。
Madeleina Loughrey-Grant是建筑公司Laing O'Rourke的法务和税务总监,她表示,随着公司认识到其有责任改变并采取行动,商业氛围正在发生变化。
“过去12-18个月间变化很大,”她说,“开始有人询问怎么把气候问题提上董事会议议程——现在实际上非常容易。在两三年前试图讨论气候问题,将其提上议程是更加困难的,但是现在各行各业中,董事层面都有态度上的转变,并意识到这是很大的商业风险。这是一个机会,但也需要应对重大的商业风险。”
对于那些主观上仍不想改变的管理层,法律可能会提供动机。由于气候影响,公司的决策面临法律挑战。
纽约市因应对全球变暖的费用将能源公司告上法庭,一位秘鲁农民也因排放对环境的污染起诉欧洲一家能源公司。
今年,英国上诉法院裁定一项允许在希思罗机场开设第三条跑道的政府政策是非法的,因为它没有考虑到英国政府根据《巴黎协定》所作的承诺。
Loughley-Grant说,此案和其他此类案件为政府和企业敲响警钟,我们必须作出改变。
“它的作用是开始越来越多地向政府施压,此类裁决会为今后的基础设施项目产生很大影响”,她说。“去年年底,荷兰最高法院的裁决命令政府加速减排。法院的裁决基于《联合国气候公约》和《欧洲人权公约》规定的义务。所以如果政府不足够迅速地采取行动,实际上侵犯了公民的人权。这些裁决不应视为个例,全球范围内将有类似的裁决产生。”
这些法律挑战会对高管和董事会成员产生影响,因为他们希望为自身和所在企业规避类似风险。
应对气候变化的行动不应仅着眼于企业行为,还应聚焦个人决策以及这些决策是否符合董事对企业的职责。
朱倍贺表示,2015年后,人们不能再声称他们没有意识到气候变化的危险和他们的责任,如果他们要认真勤勉地履行对公司的职责,那么在做决策时就必须考虑气候因素。
“‘克尽职责’和‘应尽关注’意味着你不需要在所有事情上都是专家,但是需要做好功课”,他说。“你需要关注风险和机遇,向管理层提供指导,我坚信2015年是董事职责发生重大改变的一年,因为《巴黎协议》签署后,你不能再说自己不知情了。”
“对我来说,这从根本上改变了董事的风险和责任。2015年后,董事不能再以气候怀疑论者的身份回避责任,他们应该更进一步,对风险和所做的工作有清晰的认识,为了保护公司利益,确保公司安全稳定发展,思考应如何制定策略以减轻风险。”

绿色复苏
各国政府将大手笔刺激经济以走出新冠疫情危机,可能直接投资于资本项目,或者通过贷款稳定就业。

 

Morrison Alastair

Alastair Morrison

Head of Client Strategy

Morrison说,经济刺激会为开发绿色基础设施带来机遇,否则这可能要花费更长时间才能建设。

“我们应该在法律界提升人们对现有机遇的认识,我们可以借此在寻求复苏中投资时间和资金,更多利用清洁能源”,他说。“政府可以在与气候变化相关方面作出巨大实质性改变,这也是最大的转变。因此,我认为我们现在可以抓住机会展望如何实现这一转变。”

 

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

Tip of iceberg pokes out of calm sea

How the climate crisis will shape strategy

The climate crisis is a fundamental challenge to a growing number of businesses – either because it changes the value of their output or because it threatens their operations. A strategy must now take account of the climate crisis and GCs are well positioned to help navigate the issues involved.

Climate change will re-shape the world: either because we don't address it and the physical environment changes life as we know it, or because we do address it and the way we go about our daily lives is altered forever.

This means that the time has passed when businesses can close their eyes to the issue or deal with it by publishing vague aims in a dusty corner of their website. This issue will change their employees' lives, it will change the regulatory environment in which they operate and in most cases it will change their whole business strategy.

Climate change represents a vital and fundamental challenge to the strategy almost every business is following, and needs the attention of an organisation's leadership.

Hear more about climate change and strategy on the Brain Food For General Counsel podcast

 

This is a board issue, said Alastair Morrison, head of client strategy at Pinsent Masons. "You can't have a situation where something like this is outsourced to a department. It has got to be in the consciousness of an organisation."

Companies are increasingly recognising how central an issue this is, and that it requires a response combining strategic thinking, legal and regulatory expertise and a commitment to the difficult business of cultural change. This means that general counsel (GCs) are in an ideal position to provide leadership on this issue.

Morrison said that many GCs are already aware and taking action. "When we look at discussions that we are having with the general counsel community, it is really interesting to see the overall level of awareness and interest in seeking to make a difference. The kind of awareness at a personal level is really high - everybody knows the challenges and issues that we face."

"Very senior legal people have a great degree of influence within an organisation and many of them are really good advocates," he said. "So, armed with a technical knowledge or a good scientific background of the issues, coupled with the knowledge of what is going on within an organisation, one can therefore be using influence in the board, raising consciousness around the issue and seeing what an organisation can do."

The climate crisis

The climate targets set by the Paris Agreement in 2015 aim to keep global temperatures to less than 2°C above pre-industrial levels, and to aim to keep the rise to 1.5°C. We are currently on track for rises of 3°C.

This might not seem much to non-scientists, but the effects are dramatic. The last ice age was caused by a drop in temperatures of only 3.5°C – changes that might seem small to a layperson have a major impact.

We are experiencing the effects of a 1°C increase right now: more hot days, more heatwaves, bush fires in Australia and hard-to-reverse melting of the Antarctica ice shelf.

If we don't arrest the increase then we won't be able to be outside in parts of the world by the end of the century; food prices will increase; coastal flooding will affect 5% of the population and a weakening of ocean circulation will mean more unpredictable and extreme weather.

The role of business

So there is clearly an imperative to act. But should it be down to business to make these changes?

Philippe Joubert believes that it is, not just for society's sake but for the sake of those businesses themselves. Those that do not adapt will struggle to survive and thrive.

Joubert was deputy chief executive of transport and power equipment maker Alstom but left to found and run Earth On Board, which helps companies ensure their strategies take account of the climate crisis.

He said that 2015 – when the Paris Agreement was signed and the Sustainable Development Goals were adopted – was a watershed. After this, directors could no longer claim they didn't know climate was a factor when they made decisions.

"We need to change, and 2015 will certainly be seen as the year where the world has recognised this," he said. "Business is no longer a problem, it should be a solution. Business are certainly at the origin of 70% or 80% of the impact that we have, but business is the only human organisation I know that has the resources, the organisation and the speed of reaction to help us to find a solution. But to be the real solution we should design another business model that is not taking nature for unlimited and granted."

Morrison Alastair

Alastair Morrison

Head of Client Strategy

Armed with technical knowledge GCs can be using influence in the board, raising consciousness around the issue and seeing what an organisation can do..

Joubert said that the business model of the modern economy uses nature as a free resource, and this has to change - the business model has to factor in the cost to the planet of using and contaminating water, air and the ability to pollinate.

Madeleina Loughrey-Grant is group legal and tax director at construction company Laing O'Rourke, and she said that there is a change in mood in business as companies recognise that they have a duty to change and to act.

"I think there has been a big shift even in the last 12 to 18 months," she said. "When people ask how it is possible to get this on the agenda in the boardroom, the answer is that it is actually very easy now. I think if you asked people who were trying to tackle this and move it up the agenda two to three years ago it would have been more of a challenge, but there has been a transformational attitude change at board level across all industries on this issue and recognition that it is a significant business risk. An opportunity yes, but a significant business risk that needs to be addressed."

And for those companies whose leadership might still not want to change, the law is likely to provide an incentive. Companies are facing legal challenges to their decision-making based on the climate impact.

New York City is taking energy companies to court over the costs of dealing with global warming, while a Peruvian farmer is suing an energy company in Europe over the effect of emissions on his environment.

And this year in the UK the Court Of Appeal ruled that a government policy which would have allowed for a third runway at Heathrow Airport was unlawful because it failed to take into account the UK government's commitments under the Paris Agreement.

Loughley-Grant said that this case and others send a strong signal to businesses and governments that things must change.

"What it does is it starts to put pressure increasingly on governments more widely and that will be the impact of that and other decisions that have come out. A decision like that will have major consequences for future infrastructure projects," she said. "In the Netherlands at the end of last year there was the decision of the Supreme Court where the government was effectively ordered to speed up its efforts to cut carbon emission. The Court based its judgment on the UN Climate Convention but also on the obligations that exist in the European Convention On Human Rights. So effectively that the government was breaching people's human rights by not acting quickly enough. Those decisions are not to be viewed in isolation, I think there will be similar decisions across the globe."

These legal challenges will have consequences for executives and board members, both because they will want to avoid these risks to the organisation, and because they will want to avoid risks to their own positions.

Action could focus not just on organisational behaviour but on individuals' decision-making and whether it is in line with the duties that directors have to the organisation.

Joubert said that after 2015 nobody could claim that they were not aware of climate dangers and responsibilities, and that if they are to execute their duties to their companies with the due care and diligence required then they must take the climate into account when making decisions.

"Due care and diligence is quite interesting because care and diligence means you do not need to be a specialist on everything, but you need to do your homework," he said. "You need to have eyes open on the risk and opportunities and you need to give some guidance to the management and, for me, I defend the idea that 2015 will be seen as the year of tremendous change in the duty of the board in this aspect, because of the Paris Agreement, you cannot say you do not know."

"This for me changed fundamentally the risk and the responsibility of the directors. 2015 is probably the year where being climate sceptic is not a safe harbour for directors and directors should go even further, directors should have very clear idea of where the risks are and what you are doing, what is your strategy to mitigate this risk and protect the interest of the company and put the company in a safe ground for growth," he said.

A green recovery

Governments around the world are going to have to spend an enormous amount on supporting their economies as they emerge from the coronavirus crisis. They are likely to invest in significant capital projects directly and through lending to ensure that there is work there for many people who will lose their jobs.

This economic stimulus represents an opportunity, said Morrison, a chance to create a green infrastructure that might otherwise have taken far longer to build.

"I think we should be creating awareness in the legal community about the kind of opportunity that exists to stimulate further clean sources of energy as we look to make our recovery, to put money and effort behind that," he said. "Governments can make a material and enormous shift in relation to climate change and that is the biggest shift. So, I think we can take this opportunity now and look to see how we can make that shift."

Out-Law / Your daily need to know