创建分布式可再生能源发电厂 

挑战 

特斯拉计划为澳大利亚建立第一个国有虚拟发电厂,通过在居民区内发电,满足居民自身用电需求,同时将多余的电量并入电网。然而,要实现这项计划,不仅需要统筹协调各个系统,还要与电网部门达成复杂的协议,并争取公私机构的资金支持。 

解决方案 

特斯拉将屋顶太阳能电池板和储能电池设计成像电网级电厂那样运营的发电机组,由此建立起了南澳大利亚虚拟电厂(SA VPP)。该电厂利用互联网和专有云软件控制电池充放电,并在澳大利亚国家能源市场上交易储存的电量。   

在此过程中,品诚梅森负责针对分布式屋顶太阳能和电池系统制定专门合同,并处理相关监管问题。品诚梅森还与金融咨询公司Planum Partners共同处理该项目的融资事宜,并与澳大利亚“绿色银行”——清洁能源金融公司(Clean Energy Finance Corporation,)合作,为该项目提供优先债。 

这是澳大利亚的第一家虚拟发电厂,因此对品成梅森而言,没有任何蓝图或先例可循,只能摸石头过河。  

成果 

如今,南澳大利亚虚拟发电厂为社会保障房的租户提供了更实惠、更清洁的电力,还为社会经济发展水平较低的社区内的数千个贫困家庭提供了优惠用电方案。 

社会保障房的租户无需预付任何费用,且无论是使用太阳能电池板还是电网供电,都能享受统一且低廉的价格。   

这个项目非常复杂但富有创新意义,将极大地帮助南澳大利亚保障所有居民用上实惠的可再生能源,并供其他项目参考借鉴。   

凭借在南澳大利亚虚拟发电厂项目中为特斯拉提供的出色法律服务,品诚梅森在2021年度《金融时报》“亚太创新律师奖”评选活动中斩获“可持续发展奖”。 

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

TeslaCaseStudy-Hero 1440x700px

Creating a distributed renewable power plant

The Challenge

Tesla sought to answer that question by creating the first centrally-owned virtual power plant (VPP) in Australia. Power could be generated within communities and excess power sold to the grid. But this needed central co-ordination of the systems, and complex agreements with the energy grid. It also required funding from private and public sources.

The Solution

Rooftop solar panels and batteries were orchestrated as a fleet operating like a grid scale power plant to create the South Australia Virtual Power Plant (SA VPP). It uses internet connectivity and proprietary cloud-based software to charge or discharge energy batteries, trading it on the National Energy Market.

This required Pinsent Masons to create bespoke contracts relating to distributed rooftop solar and battery systems and to navigate the regulatory issues involved. The firm worked on funding for the project with financial advisor Planum Partners, and worked with the Clean Energy Finance Corporation, Australia's 'green bank', on its provision of senior debt to the project.

This was the first VPP of its kind in Australia meaning that there were no blueprints or precedents for Pinsent Masons to follow.

The Result

The SA VPP now provides cheaper, cleaner power to residents of social housing properties. The project gives access to discounted power arrangements for thousands of vulnerable families in low socio-economic neighbourhoods.

There were no up-front costs for social housing tenants and they were guaranteed the same low energy price whether using energy from the solar panels or from the grid.

The project was complex and innovative and will play a vital role in improving access to affordable, renewable energy across South Australia, and will act as a model for other projects.

Pinsent Masons won the Sustainability Award at the FT Innovative Lawyer Awards Asia Pacific 2021 for its role advising Tesla on the SA VPP.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know