乐高玩具

创建基础设施学院

韩国是亚洲第三大经济体,其强劲的长期经济增长在一定程度上得益于该国的建筑行业,该国的这些业界企业正越来越多地参与国际竞争。

对于某些韩国企业而言,这同样意味着挑战,因为他们需要掌握陌生的法律规范和商业框架。如果不加注意,这种潜在风险可能会引发问题。正因此,我们推出了品诚梅森基础设施学院(Pinsent Masons Infrastructure Academy),帮助韩国企业的商业团队应对这些风险。

挑战

 

韩国有许多本土工程承包公司在国际市场攻城略地的成功故事。近年来,大宇工程建设公司、斗山工程建设公司以及现代工程建设公司均取得了巨大的发展。

这种成功在全球引起了轰动;《中东经济文摘》的一项研究发现,中东地区最为成功的十家工程承包商中多达五家来自韩国。

尽管大环境有诸多积极因素,部分承包商担心由于他们在运营层面不够熟悉当地的某些法律和商业理念,导致他们在竞争中处于劣势。

解决方案

在与一家大型承包商的合作过程中,我们发现了帮助客户管理并减少法律成本的独特商机。我们可以通过为客户培训内部法律人员来改善现场合同管理,从而帮助客户减少争议数量,提高商业和解而非寻求仲裁的几率。

通过与客户的合作,我们编撰与评估了在客户业务范围内最为常见的法律咨询类型,并制定了相关的大纲。

为了管理成本,这项工作由品诚梅森的自由律师管理机构Vario招募的全职和特约律师配合完成。

我们随后召集起50位特约经理,负责处理该客户在全球范围内拥有重要商业意义的工程项目。

这些特约经理参加了十多天的集训课程,包括讲演、研讨会与反馈课程。该培训的目标在于,令特约经理有能力根据合约、配额、延误以及技术分析,起草简单但依法、健全的索赔文件。

结果

毫无疑问,这项培训计划可以有效减少客户面临的风险,品诚梅森基础设施学院已经成为一个固定项目。现在,我们有时通过这个方式寻找并快速培养表现杰出的员工。此外,品诚梅森还帮助韩国的工程承包商处理在中国香港、新加坡、中东、非洲以及南美洲遇到的复杂而棘手的问题。

Out-Law / 您的日常须知

Lego
1 min. read

Creating the Infrastructure Academy

South Korea is the third-largest economy in Asia. Part of the reason for the country's strong long-term economic performance has been its construction sector, whose participants have become increasingly internationally focused. For some, this has also created challenges in getting to grips with unfamiliar legal and commercial frameworks. Unchecked, this risk exposure could become a problem. For that reason we launched the Pinsent Masons Infrastructure Academy to help commercial teams engage with risk.

The challenge

South Korea is replete with home-grown success stories of construction contractors taking the world by storm. Daewoo Engineering and Construction, Doosan Engineering and Construction and Hyundai Engineering and Construction have all made huge strides in recent years.

That success has been felt around the world; one study by the Middle East Economic Digest found that five of the top ten most successful contractors working in the Gulf region came from South Korea.

Amid these positives, some contractors were concerned that their lack of familiarity with certain legal and commercial concepts at an operational level could leave them disadvantaged.

We launched the Pinsent Masons Infrastructure Academy to help commercial teams engage with risk

The solution

Working with one significant contractor client, we identified an opportunity to help it manage and minimize legal costs. By training its own personnel to improve on-the-ground contract management we could help the client reduce the number of disputes and increase the likelihood of commercial settlements rather than disputes.

In partnership with our client we compiled and reviewed the most common types of legal query within the clients' business and developed a syllabus around that.

To manage costs, this work was undertaken by a mix of full time and contract resource brought in from Vario, Pinsent Masons' hub of freelance lawyers.

We subsequently brought together a group of 50 contract managers who were working on projects of major commercial significance for the client around the world.

Over 10 days the contract managers participated in an intensive programme of presentations, workshops and feedback sessions. The objective was that, by the end of the programme, contract managers would be able to draft simple but legally robust claims documents based on contractual, quantum, delay and technical analysis.

The results

In a sure sign that the programme is working in reducing risk for the client, the Pinsent Masons Infrastructure Academy has become a regular fixture. It is now used partially as a means to identify and fast-track high performers. Further, the firm is engaged on complex and critical matters for South Korean contractors across Hong Kong, Singapore, the Middle East, Africa and South America.

Out-Law / Your daily need to know